Vodafone UK Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG

Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG

Overall rating:
3.019 / 5
3
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
14
29 out of 53(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Review 1 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

Posted19 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Turquoisewaters
from Swanage, Dorset, UK
Gender:Male
I just buy this phone a few days ago it work just a short while and now I cant use it it keeps refreshing itself and it wont allow me to use the icons as it freeze up refreshes itself again so cant use the phone. Brand new this phone and a complete waste of money. Its cheap but not worth paying for the software design internally has to be faulty for this to react this way. I am not the only person complaining about this phone on hear so their has to be something radically wrong with this. I now wish I read the reviews before buying this phone as after now reading all this and myself experiencing the problems I would never of touch this phone at all. So take it from me it's not worth taking the risk and waiting your £45.000.
Cons: software no good phone freeze cant use icons
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally at a lost finding my way around this thing. Had it for two days before I had puzzled how to make a telephone call. Camera very blurry

Posted16 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Wrinkly
from UK
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Totally at a loss to understand this phone. Certainly not for an oldie like me. Camera very blurry. It took me two days to puzzled out how the telephone worked. Initial help from shop designed for nerds - does not give time for normal people to understand. Have had it for a month and unable to use Hi fi. google or email. Trial subscription of £10 gone and still do not know what it does. Would not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini White PAYG.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

faulty the FIRST time now working fine :)

Posted15 April 2014
Customer Avatar
cerk
from Leicester, UK
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when i first brought this it was easy to set up and easy to use then it started going faulty so i sent it back to vodafone now its working fine no bugs have came up im happy with this phone
Pros: easy to use
Cons: faulty the first time
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Feeble

Posted25 February 2014
Customer Avatar
cdunstone
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad points
- appallingly feeble speaker
- no mechanical vibrate
- slow, stutters but does catch up eventually
- poor viewing angles of screen
-
Good points
+ Android
It's cheap and looks and sounds like it. Camera now green monochrome after being dropped twice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini White PAYG.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant

Posted29 January 2014
Customer Avatar
pawnygirl2
from England, UK
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this phone is amazing .
if you want a phone which does everything and for a budget get it I promise you it will please you
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a bargain

Posted10 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Unhappy
from UK
Gender:Female
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone as a treat for myself, It does not recognise the 4gb sd card I bought for it and it uses my credit faster than anything. I have thrown it in the cupboard in disgust and gone back to my old mobile. I would not recommend.
Pros: looks good
Cons: expensive to run
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini Pink PAYG.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ridiculously Unresponsive

Posted13 January 2014
Customer Avatar
JollyTrolley
from London, UK
Gender:Female
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is so far the worst phone I've ever had. After moving to the UK, I needed a cheap smartphone as I was pretty much broke but needed something to keep me contactable and help with work (maps, notes, etc) so got this one temporarily.
The battery life is poor, I ended up having to plug it in every evening. It also tends to freeze A LOT.
Texting with this phone is pretty much the slowest texting experience you will ever have, because you try to touch a key and it'll write down 2 keys to the left. Also, if you try deleting what you just wrote, you'll find your phone adding a lot of m's and k's to what you wanted to delete. I had never had any trouble with touchscreen texting until I got this phone.
Some apps run smoothly while others (the majority) take an eternity to load. You also have to keep closing apps otherwise the phone will just conk out.
The only upside to this phone is that it has been thrown countless times to the floor in fits of rage and it hasn't got a single scratch, so it's quite sturdy (or I'm just not that strong).
Don't waste your money on this.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: everything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not Buy!

Posted11 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Smart hater
from Ayrshire
Gender:Female
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone does not operate properly. My phone has been sent back for repair three times in the four months I have had it! Worst phone I have ever purchased!
Pros: none
Cons: does not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini Pink PAYG.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value smartphone

Posted26 December 2013
Customer Avatar
salsapixie
from Salford, UK
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone is brilliant value. Obviously if you want the performance and features of an iphone then buy an iphone. I have a tablet so I just wanted a bsaic smartphone for internet, facebook, email etc. and they are all easy to access on this. Also, google maps is pre-loaded and you can access apps on google play. If anything, there is more than I need on here.The phone can also be used as a wifi hotspot so I can access wifi on my kindle using it. The camera is OK, not brilliant and the sound is a bit tinny. But for £50, it provides more than £50 of smartphone in my eyes.
Pros: email, facebook, wifi hotpsot
Cons: tinny sound.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini Pink PAYG.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good phone

Posted22 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Tatty Teddy
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think this is a really good phone and it does everything that
I want it to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissapointing

Posted01 November 2013
Customer Avatar
cornwallphone
from Cornwall, UK
Gender:Female
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
in the first two weeks this phone was a very good phone good apps and easy to use menu and texting... but after 3 or 4 weeks it started turning its self off not charging and now it won't turn on at all i would not recommend this horrible piece of horrible technology to anyone and i will not buy another phone made by alcatel (this phone is actually an acatel one touch t-pop) and i won't buy one that is branded as vodafone... this is a big disappointment and i will not have money for a new phone until February. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!
Pros: easy to use
Cons: turns itself off all the time, doesn't always charge, can't buy a protective case
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this phone.

Posted18 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
from West Berkshire, UK
Gender:Female
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this phone 8 weeks ago, the internet worked for the first couple of times and then failed to work.
I took it back to the shop they tried for about 10 mins to get on line, eventually they got it back on line but next time I tried to use it, it didn't work.
So I took it back to a different Vodaphone shop he tried and tried eventually he told me to take the battery out and replace it every time I need to go on line!!!
I eventually took it back to the store I bought it from only to be told they could not replace it as it was 8 weeks old.
So I immediately went to Car Phone Warehouse and bought a different phone from them on talk mobile.
Pros: none
Cons: lots
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product has great features

Posted25 September 2013
Customer Avatar
shannon
from high wycombe
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this phone is really good however im finding it impossible to find a case for it ive tried vodafone shops ive tried phone stalls and amazon and ebay and nowhere has a case for it and its very frustrating!!!
Pros: great design
Cons: cant find a case for it
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good phone for the money.

Posted16 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh12100
from Milton Keynes, UK
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In my opinion its basically an unbranded Samsung Galaxy.
which ive had before. Never had a vodafone phone before and i am NOT dissapointed by my purchase. It does what i wanted it to do. Phone, text, take some pictures, and use facebook. Overall performance isnt bad at all. Not speedy but quick enough. I bought this because i go through too many phones in a year this has got to be my 3rd! I break them and normally spend 100-150 a time. So this time i thought id cut back lol So yes i would recommend this phone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not a bad phone for the price

Posted29 August 2013
Customer Avatar
pavlov
from greater manchester
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought this phone so I could use twitter or watch youtube
apart from a few teething problems it is a good phone
Pros: easy to use
Cons: ring tone too low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value budget smart phone

Posted13 August 2013
Customer Avatar
harters74
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are continually using your mobile for just about everything and your life is stored on it, then this phone is probably not for you, but I primarily wanted a cheap smart phone so I could access apps, as I'm not a big mobile phone user and didn't want to fork out a lot of money.
Having used it for a couple of weeks now, I'm very pleased with it. The pre-loaded interface can be adjusted to suit your needs, removing the widgets/apps that you don't use often and personalise with those you do.
If using the phone for taking photos / playing your mp3 collection I suspect you would need to insert an SD card for extra storage space. The camera quality is not brilliant, but you get what you pay for - I prefer a proper camera anyway!
I use this phone with the home WiFi connection and have had no problems.
The smart phone touch screen keyboard takes a bit of getting used to after using a standard mobile keypad.
The main downside is battery life. I use the phone for playing games, facebook and twitter, as well as WiFi browsing and find the battery life pretty bad if using continually, just a few hours before needing a recharge.
Overall a cracking phone at a bargain price.
Pros: great price for an entry level smart phone
Cons: battery life
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good all rounder

Posted19 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Carbev
from Uk
Gender:Female
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this just under a month... There are a few shortcomings which mean I cannot recommend it. The ringtone and message alert are very quiet, even on full volume and cannot be heard in a pocket or bag. The vibrate alert is very gentle and cannot be detected in a pocket. The rotate screen function keeps getting stuck on my phone and I have to switch off and on every other day to fix this problem. The touch screen is big but even so texting and selecting apps is frustratingly tricky and requires much more patience and correcting than other touch screen devices I own. Vodafone will only replace or refund within the first 7 days after purchase, so buyer beware!
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor touch screen, poor camera, poor ringtone volume, dodgy screen rotation
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as i expected

Posted14 July 2013
Customer Avatar
androidnil
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's meant to be Android 4.1.1 Jellybean so fast etc...
It's Slow .you can't remove widgets for the main screens
overall NOT impressed by this phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richie
Doncaster
Not good enough
Posted 13 August 2013
bought one as a replacement for my old 'normal phone'.
Very disapointed with it to the extent that Ive gone back to my old phone.
Not recommended
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
This review is fromVodafone Smart Mini White PAYG.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb smart phone for the price

Posted23 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Richie
from Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought one of these and have never had or used a smart phone before. I found it very easy to set up and within minutes was able to use virtually all the features. I have shown some friends the phone and they have moaned that their one 'doesn't do that or can't do that'. They asked me where I got it and how much it cost. 3 came back in the afternoon having bought them. It's a great little phone and I am really impressed with it. Can't say better than that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vodafone Smart Mini Black PAYG
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

to good to be true

Posted06 July 2013
Customer Avatar
bobby
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an amazing phone that everything there is, is perfect. This is an amazing offer for £50.There is a little bit of a take back that there is no vibration for a ring tone, but it is still excellent quality. the internet comes up in a flash which is amazing!
Pros: nothing wrong with it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Simon
This is an invalid review
Posted 28 December 2013
The mispelled "to" is used in this post and the one by bobby (female) which is evidence to support my view that they are the same person. Either Vodafone is poor at vetting these posts and checking for duplicates or they are trying to let a single reviewer add multiple reviews to bump up the average star rating of this controversial handset. Shame.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>