Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Average customer reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Filter by rating
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsAdd your own review
What is relevancy sort?
Relevancy sort puts the best reviews at the top. We look at things like helpfulness votes, latest reviews, pictures and other traits that readers look for in their reviews.
Sort order:
Very impressive, sleek and solid phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 8, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. First of all, I tried this product with the knowledge that it was slightly more expensive than this company's previous models, and I wasn't sure how this price would be justified or what to expect. The packaging was simple and largely unremarkable. On opening, the first things I noticed were the striking display quality and the solid feel to the phone overall. The screen had particularly sharp resolution and vivid colours, which is much more impressive than the phone I previously used. These two features gave the phone a very premium feel overall. The camera quality was very impressive. Even in dark rooms, such as my sitting room in the evening, I was still managing to achieve clear and attractive photos, so I was really pleased with this. I hadn't been able to achieve such picture quality with my previous phone, so this was really exciting. The response time for launching apps is rapid and fluid, and the phone's memory is enormous at 128GB. There's plenty of room for everything you could need. I personally use my phone for augmented reality games and travel a lot. Hence, my activities are a huge battery drain and I'm usually out of the house all day. Despite this, the phone still had around 40% battery life at the end of the day without a supplemental charge - this is extremely impressive. The only thing I would say is it is very slightly on the heavy side. It still feels easy to use, but be careful while you're getting used to holding it as I nearly dropped it a few times myself in the first few days. Overall this is an excellent phone and I'm very happy to have had the opportunity to try it.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Huawei all the way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 25, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. Upon receiving this product I was a little apprehensive to switch to an android system after using IOS for over six years...
The adjustment was a challenge at first - that is until I realised just exactly the flexibility and customality of the operating system. Suddenly it was as though I had been living in the past for the last 5+ years and was finally joining the world in up to date tech! By far my favourite thing about this phone is its ability to hold charge, super charge within 30 minutes and it's reverse charging feature!
I no longer miss my old phone and it's two hours to charge to 100%. I was so used to carrying around a phone charger with me in my day to day life that now - only charging my phone for 30 minutes in the morning has me forgetting where/when I last charged or even used the charger! (In a good way, obviously!) Admittedly there has been a few teething problems, I found the keyboard fumbly and difficult, often catching my thumbs on numbers or punctuation - but with a quick change in the settings from Huawei's standard keyboard to Googles own, I was well away. Along with that, I found the camera good quality but my photos very 'hit and miss' - That was until I turned on the Master AI feature in my settings - and now I have perfect pictures almost all the time!
Overall, I am still learning the phone - but the jump to an android phone is no longer a scare to me, and the whole process took about 20 minutes to gain data from my old phone to my new one, and a further 20 to finally get it set up and running! I feel I am 100% an android convert, and plan to stick with my Huawei for many years to come.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 1, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Having previously had the Mate 10 Pro, I was interested to see what Huawei would do to improve on one of the best phones of 2018. Well, they added an amazing camera, wireless charging and a fast processor to make this one of the best phones of 2019.
The phone comes with a very fast charger but the added bonus of wireless charging is fantastic to someone like me who just puts it on the charging pad at bedtime.
The battery life is excellent - this is one of the key things for me when buying a phone and whereas I can't get 2 full days out of it, I've not managed to drain it in a single day yet.
As mentioned before, the camera is superb, probably the best I've seen on a phone - there's a massive range of options available when taking pictures but even just the 'point and press' is usually too good for someone to mess up.
The design is where it loses a star, it does look very familiar to another brand's flagship phone with it's curved edges and whilst it looks great, practically it has some drawbacks. I alway put a tempered glass screen protector on these expensive phones and that causes some issues with the fingerprint sensor which is built into the screen but the facial recognition usually works very well so this isn't a major problem. I do sometimes struggle to type the end letters on the keyboard because of the curved screen though which is somewhat of a pain. And I don't like the notch.
The Huawei phone clone made it effortless to transfer my data over from my old phone to this one and it comes with a decent pair of USB C Headphones.
Overall I'd recommend this phone - expensive at £900 rrp, but with all the features of the latest flagship, it still works out better value than other brands.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How to break (up with) your old phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 7, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Does my passion for tech stretch only as far as my wallet? I wish - rather, it depends on genuine infatuation. And Huawei's successful flaunting of this phone's refined design, curved OLED display, and an insane amount of ram and storage finally made me reconsider my double-wield (a great camera phone + one with a functional SIM slot). 'Twas an excellent call shall we say.
Battery life – it is not normal. After a whole day of adjusting brightness, constant running of apps, as well as my regular updates to the Chinese government, I still come home with roughly 50% of the battery left.
Camera: I vowed that once I get a great camera phone, I will rejoin Instagram and further inundate the network already saturated with avocado toasts and people’s unseemly offspring, I mean pets. Now I gotta - the camera has a great colour + an incredible detail & saturation. The night-mode produces pictures so stunning that I am actually infiltrating the herds of tourists on regular basis and am joining the collective effort of capturing the moment. Fancy yourself a pro (too)? Give the 3 x zoom telephoto and the ultra-wide colour lens a try! Got some looks challenged friends? Use the portrait mode and turn them into stunners!
I also love: the dual firing speakers, a Kirin 980 processor – a first 7nm chip on Android -, the ability to wirelessly charge other Qi-charging devices (save someone’s relationship via enabling their girlfriend to get hold of them will ya?).
I dislike: Huawei specific apps, video mode (oversharpened and overexposed). Schrödinger's 2nd SIM card slot (will cease to exist if you opt for an extra memory card), fruit brand like lack of phone jack.
Still, I am definitely a convert and can gladly recommend the Huawei Mate 20 Pro! :)
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DSLR goes Mobile!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 18, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review
Pros
Camera(s) – It goes without saying, the camera unit is the best thing about this device, and personally it’s the best set of cameras I’ve used on a mobile device…ever. The new wide angle lens is just magic! Night time street photography results are just amazing. It also works wonders in low light indoor conditions
Wide angle lens WITH night mode – Allows you to fit in a whole lot more of the scene and only slightly compromises on detail, also works with night mode! Amazing.
Display – AMOLED and amazing. The contrast and detail makes colours pleasantly pop and screen brightness goes high enough to not give any issues with outdoor viewing
SuperCharge and Battery life – The SuperCharge Technology is unbelievable, with all features enabled (i.e. Bluetooth, WiFi etc) manged to get an extra 36% in 20mins… whilst browsing on the phone at the same time! The massive 4200ma battery with full charge can last all day with photography and editing with at least 20% left by the end of the day
Fast Wireless charging - Used a 15w wireless charger and it’s definitely quicker than any others I’ve used, no problems even with the phone in a case
Headphone Jack - No headphone jack, a lot of phones are heading down this route. Although, it did come with a Type-C headphone jack converter and Type-C earphones
In-Screen Fingerprint Sensor – One of the best but still not as quick as a capacitive fingerprint scanner, however the difference is only a fraction of a second
Cons
Expandable storage – You will need to buy a Huawei proprietary ‘Nano Memory Card’
Speaker – Not the loudest but acceptable
All-in-all this is the best phone I’ve ever used for mobile photography (and overall) and would highly recommend it. Brilliant Performance meets Flawless Design, Simply Amazing.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most amazing phone ever!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 4, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. The minute I placed the phone in my hand, I knew I was in for a treat. This amazing phone is full of great features from its phenomenal camera to its crisp display. The 6.39 inch OLED display fits comfortably in my tiny hands. The frame is not too heavy nor is it flimsy. The glass body is prone to fingerprints but I found cleaning it very therapeutic. Nothing like making the glass shine. The on screen fingerprint scanner gives it a modern and chic vibe. The phone is fully customisable to your specific needs. You can personalise the notch display, the navigation buttons and also optimise the colors of the display to suit your needs. The camera is a powerhouse and has replaced my DSLR. There are 4 back cameras and they are a treat. Clear, distortion free pictures without much hassle. I love using this phone to shoot videos especially the part where your can blur the background and focus only on the subject. Makes a mama like me happy. I can send videos of my son dancing without worrying about the mess in the background. The battery lasts super long and is perfect for a day out. You can use it to your hearts content without worrying about the battery percentage. I tested the charging capability and I'm happy to report that it charges about 65% in 25 minutes. Would've been higher if I hadn't streamed music on it. You can charge it wirelessely and you can use the Huawei to charge other people's phone too. The trick always impresses my colleagues. One tip I would give to people who want to buy this phone is to watch tutorials and play around with it. The phone has so much to offer. The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is a must have phone. It gives you a phenomenal camera, long lasting battery and a clear cut display. What more could you ask for? Even if you did ask for more, this phone would definitely have it. I will definitely recommend this phone.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Truly Great, with some tweaking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 22, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. This phone is the epitome of premium. Curved dark grey glass steeped on both sides, a form factor you wont tire of holding and a lovely heft give this device a feel which puts it in the market leaders category. The screen is crisp and bright, the phone is fast and responsive thanks to 6GB of RAM. Storage is plentiful and EMUI has come on to a point where it now (mainly) no longer gets in the way of the Android experience. The camera is the star here though. Thanks to the included lenses, you are able to zoom in and out from shots to get super close or wide angle and the resulting images are crisp, clean and vibrant and full of detail. Low light performance is also excellent and this phone is able to take a good picture in pretty much any scenario thanks to the AI which really does let you point and shoot. It has pro modes for people who like more control and the camera app is intuitive enough to let you work to your specific skill level or preference. The ones aspect to note with Huawei devices are the EMUI quirks. I call them quirks as they dont get in the way of the experience, but you do need to tweak the OS to get the most out of it. EMUI aggressively closes background apps to save battery, which is great as a rule but there will be some apps you want to whitelist to allow notifications to always come through (think video doorbell or breaking news). Changing this is simple and once you have done it you get a great phone, with long battery life, stunning camera, premium feel and we havent even covered the ability to plug in to a PC monitor and run like a desktop PC. This feature is in its infancy and it does show, but its encouraging that you can do this without purchasing a separate dock. All in all, a great handset and for me it seems Huawei is now all grown up, no longer the new entrant or up and coming manufacturer. With this phone, they are the premium end of the market, and though this phone may be pricey, it still manages to come in cheaper than the competition. Recommended choice. 5 Stars.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Huawei delivers a brilliant flagship device
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 21, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
From the first viewing, this is a gorgeous phone. It's sleek and really takes advantage of the length and width to great effect as the screen resolution (3120x1440) is superb. I thought the notch would be distracting but it's not at all, and in fact, you can remove it. One of the other striking features is the seeming lack of finger-print scanner. Never fear, as Huawei are pushing hardware limits and built this into the screen! It's a little sluggish compared to normal scanners, but the face recognition unlock is super fast anyway. Speaking of hardware, RIP my 3.5mm headphone jack. Ok, it comes with a USB-C adaptor, but it's just not the same! I was hesitant of the EMUI 9 software at first, coming from a device that runs virtually stock Android. I have been pleasantly surprised. The software is intuitive, and the 6gb RAM makes it fly, running and switching between multiple apps seamlessly. It runs Android Pie straight out of the box, so you get the latest innovations and tweaks. There is a fair bit of bloatware, however. I don't mind stock programs being installed, but forcing Facebook on me is a bit annoying. The settings are vast, although it feels like many of the best features are hidden away, and it has taken me watching a few YouTube videos to really understand the power of the device and to tweak it to my preferences. The camera was a huge selling point for me. It improves on the already marking leading P20 Pro by adding an ultra-wide lens and the multiple cameras excel with depth-of-field. The Kirin 980 Chip uses AI to help process photos, identifying objects and improving shots. My only gripe has been the selfie camera which seems to add a 'beautifying' type filter. I rarely use this, but I am not a fan of it being on by default as opposed to being an option. I have been impressed with the large 4,200mAh battery, getting 24-36 hours usage easily. The software itself has lots of power saving features itself. The supercharge ability means you can get 65-70% charge in 30mins which is brilliant when on the go. I've yet to try the reverse-wireless function feature. It's fun but a little gimmicky. Overall, this is a superb device — a genuine top-tier piece of kit.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your new best Mate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 15, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
The device itself is beautifully made and the curved edges really help it stand out from the crowd. The fingerprint sensor is hidden behind the beautiful 4k screen, and I have found it to be pretty accurate, although the excellent 3d face recognition unlock usually beats the fingerprint to it!
The glass is slippery and a bit of a fingerprint magnet, so a case is recommended.
The Kirin 980 processor is super-fast, and ensures smooth running of anything you throw at it.
The 4200 mAh battery on this thing is incredible. I use the camera and a few other applications daily for work and still come home with 40-50% left. The device also offers an incredibly fast “supercharge” of 74% in just 30 minutes! Phones are definitely headed in the right direction and Huawei is leading the way.
The camera/s are definitely the highlight of the device. 3 cameras including a telephoto lens for superb zoomed shots without loss of quality, and the wide-angle lens which I have never seen on a phone before this, but I think we will see it on many future phones. It’s just that good. This lens also helps with super-macro shots, which I’ve got a lot of use out of. The camera’s AI will recognise what you’re looking at and will optimise the image, which I have found works brilliantly 90% of the time, offering sharp and detailed images with perfect colour balance.
There are a few video modes unique to the device, such as blurring out the background, and keeping the target in colour while grey scaling the background. These are great for budding moviemakers out there!
Cons:
No device is perfect, and there are a few negatives that come with this one.
1. The notch is large, due to needing the space to input the 3d face recognition, and sometimes this leads to notifications that don’t appear in the top bar. I don’t think it was worth the sacrifice and it is hard to get used to.
2. The stereo speakers are located inside the USB port and offer disappointing tinny sound quality compared to other flagship phones.
3. The default launcher/software isn’t the best, but this is easily fixed with an alternative launcher from the app store.
Overall, this is a great phone with many innovative features, and Huawei are really proving themselves in the world of premium smartphones.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 20, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
I have really enjoyed using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro. It has plenty of memory and the processor hasn't slowed for anything that I have done, watching movies, playing games, music and taking photos. Everything that you would expect a brand new phone to be doing.
The battery really is great, some days I can take off charge in the morning and not need to charge again until the following evening. yes this is a rare occurrence but it will last at least a day even with constant use throughout the day with bluetooth, wifi etc enabled as you would expect. I have used the wireless charger that I had with another brand of phone and it worked fine. I've used the charging function to charge my wife's phone wirelessly from the Mate 20 Pro whilst out and about, it was handy to give hers a boost but seems like a bit of a gimmick that is rarely used.
The 40mp camera is great, you point at what you want to take a picture of and the AI instantly recognises what you are taking a picture of and adjusts accordingly. It takes very good shots in all light levels and has a nice night mode which takes some great pictures, I took pictures of stars on a clear night which came out perfectly, it just takes a little longer to capture the image. The screen displays the pictures in great quality with very vivid colours.
In terms of security the Mate 20 pro has facial recognition which I cannot fault, it even works in total darkness using just the light emitted from the screen. I cannot say the same for the in screen fingerprint scanner which is a bit hit and miss, sometimes it works first time and other times more so i just stick with facial recognition.
Having no home button doesn't alter the usability of the Mate 20 Pro, you can set up gestures which make it so easy to navigate. swipe up from the bottom to go to the home screen, swipe up and hold to see all open apps and swipe from left or right to go back. it just takes some getting used to as I kept closing apps when i was actually trying to scroll the screen up.
This is a truly great phone which is well worth the cost. all I would say is that I upgraded from the P20 pro and woud not say that it is that much better to warrant an upgrade. if you have an older phone, or wanting to upgrade from another brand then this is the phone to select.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Hardware, Average Software
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 21, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. I have been using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro as my primary smartphone for about 2 weeks now and I can confidently say that it's the best phone I've ever used. I'm a big technology buff and I like to keep up with the latest smartphone trends, so when I was given the opportunity to test the latest flagship phone from Huawei, I jumped at the chance. Upon unboxing the phone you quickly realise that you're dealing with a premium product, it's got a metal and glass build and has sleek curves on the back aswell as a curved screen on the front. It's very comfortable to hold and has a good amount of weight to it. When switching the phone on you're greeted with a brilliant 6.39" AMOLED display which is absolutely gorgeous. The phone has a substantial notch eating into the screen space but it can be forgiven because it has some impressive 3D face scanning technology built in which is not only secure, it's super fast at unlocking the phone too. The phone runs on Huawei's latest Kirin 980 Processor and is blazing fast no matter what you throw at it. The processor is also very battery efficient and this combined with the massive 4200 MAh means that this phone will last even the heaviest of users a full day and some. One of the main features that attracted me to this phone is the camera setup, it has 3 lenses on the back. A normal, wide angle and telephoto zoom lens. This hardware combined with the AI on board means that photos taken on this camera are simply stunning. The main lens is a 40 megapixel effort and this can produce impressive detail in shots and the night mode simply has to be seen to be believed. I will attach some photos I have taken with this phone at the end of this review for you to view so you can see for yourself how good the cameras are. Now I would like to mention the only bit of this phone that I don't like and it's the same thing that lets every Huawei phone down in my opinion, the software. The phone runs the latest version of Android with Huawei's EMUI skin overlay. EMUI adds many extra features that aren't standard across all Android phones which is good but the visual design isn't to my taste and the volume of bloatware apps that come pre-installed is totally unnecessary. To summarise, I believe that this phone has some exceptional hardware which is slightly let down by the not so good software.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best of 2018-2019.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 16, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review First impressions + what's inside the box: when you first open up the box you get the phone, a 40 watt charger plus USB cable, USBC earphones, a SIM ejector tool and some manuals. Unfortunately there is no free protective case. I currently have the black edition of the phone, it looks stunning with its curved design but the back is massive finger print magnet. The build quality is excellent, it feels weighty in the hand and the buttons feel very premium and the red power button is a nice touch. Software - the phone is using EMUI 9 Android Pie. Lots of useful functions/gestures and performance is slick as expected. I found the Huawei launcher to be fine with plenty of customisation, obviously there are lots of third party options. Battery life & charging - the phone has a huge 4200mah battery and the Kirin chip inside the phone sips it. This is a true 2-day phone and I have no faults with it. Charging this phone is the best thing since sliced bread, 1 hour full battery from zero to 100%, outstanding. Multimedia & multitasking - viewing multimedia on this device in excellent. the screen is an excellent crispy 1440x3120 pixel curved display, colours are accurate. Audio quality is exceptional from the speaker and via earphones, I watch youtube videos and listen to podcasts. I use my Sony noise cancelling headphones, with the LDAC codec, music via sreaming is clear, punchy with plenty of dynamic range. I've played a few games such as Asphalt 8, the phone never gets hot and performs with no stutter at all. Camera - this is certainly the best camera I've used in terms of night shots. daylight shots are similar to other phones with the Mate 20 Pro edging it in terms of detail, however night shots with the night mode on the Huawei being light years ahead the competition, photos look good to great in the poorest of light. The wide angle lens was fantastic for group shots and scenery shots and the possibly the only phone with this ability in the market right now. Selfies look great but the focus is fixed, so you will need to experiment. Cons - The on screen fingerprint is fiddly, and doesn't work 100% of the time, you have to press hard on the screen for it to register. I ended up just using face unlock, which works 95% of the time (unless you're in bed for some reason). I had issues with palm rejection but I have big hands.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great spec'd phone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 21, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
The Mate20 Pro smartphone is essentially a phablet given its screen size. But let's be honest, size really matters! Who wants to squint their eyes when watching videos on Youtube or other “tubes” and “hubs”?. The screen is "Yuuuuge" at 6.39 inches, while weighing only 189grams and being 8.6mm thin. This is probably the best screen size to weight ratio I have seen. Moreso, the phone fits snuggly into one's' palm, allowing one hand operation without any problem, thanks to the much reduced width of only 72.6mm, slimmer than even the P20 pro.
There is no home button on the front, like on the P20 Pro, instead, the fingerprint scanner comes embedded into the screen. Like most modern smartphones the Mate20 Pro ditches the home button so as to dedicate its front to the screen. It comes with other features like screen recording and split screen which have now become a standard for most Huawei phones.
The battery on the Mate20 Pro is a humongous 4200mAh, that’s 200mAh more than the already juice-saving record breaking P20 Pro. This means the Mate20 Pro will be able to keep things ticking for 2 days easy-peasy, after a full charge. I managed a whole 3 days uptime despite my intensive use of the camera as I was testing various modes and scenarios during the same period.
Like its predecessor, this phone is all about the camera. The phone has got 3 rear Leica cameras which work together to provide appropriate lighting, depth, focus and color performance. Indeed the power of AI is summoned on this phone to aid in object auto detection, auto camera modes and settings accordingly, making this behemoth, a perfect point and shoot buddy.
The Mate20 Pro has all other bells and whistles that one would expect from Huawei’s flagship. It's all IP68, with Quick charge, IR sensor, NFC etc etc. but it has its shortcomings like all things “many-made” and indeed man-made. The in-display fingerprint sensor is sometimes inconsistent, failing to recognise my fingerprint, meaning I have to use other authentication modes. Also if one uses a tempered glass screen protector, this problem can be made worse. This technology could be in its early phases and one hopes it will improve with time. However, the Mate20 Pro comes with PIN, Fingerprint and 3D face recognition mechanisms which allows one to choose the methods they feel is most effective considering their circumstances.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bigger And Better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 21, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. The phone is amazing and has some very appealing features. First off I love the design of the phone it is slim with a 3D glass screen and smooth curves that dissolve into the design. The power button and the volume buttons are both on the right side. The phone does not need to unlocked as it is a sim free. I believe it is dual sim because when i pulled out the sim tray it looked like two sims could fit in it, one on either side. It has a little slot at the bottom for a SD card should you feel you need extra storage however it supports a nano SD card. It has a 6 inch 1440 x 3120 screen. It is both dust and water resistance so dip or dunk in the water won't affect it. I chose to hide the notch at the top because i like to see my notifications in the status bar. I was very impressed with its ergonomic design. A camera under the screen to visually scans your fingerprint i'd just need to touch screen lightly and it would recognise my finger print immediately unlocking my phone instantly no more pins or passwords for me. The phone has a larger 4200mph battery allowing for long and lasting use of the phone. I rented a movie out specifically simply to see how long the battery would last. I watched all of it with plenty of charge still left. It also allows you share battery power with other phones wirelessly as long as their phones supports Qi wireless charging. This setting isn't done by default and must be done manually once done it will automatically start transferring power to the other phone, this works both ways. Huawei has really pushed its optical technology here with 3 wide angle cameras. If you just want to pick up the phone and shoot something, then Huawei’s automatic controls are just for you but if your like me and you like to experiment then, the Mate 20 Pro AI camera assistant guides you to the best shots possible. This again isn't on by default and thus would need to be turned on this can be done in the photo section of the camera app. Overall the quality of the camera was flawless taking clear, crisp and sharply detailed photos with every shot i took. It also has host of other features, special gestures, remote control, health tracking, making the screen smaller, using two apps at the same time and taking screenshots with your knuckle. The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is more powerful, boasts a bigger screen, faster charging, and a more versatile camera.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My best MATE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 27, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. If I were to describe Mate 20 Pro in one sentence, I would say that it is the most complete smartphone on the market in terms of hardware, in which, however, still see the field for improvement. Great camera with ultra-wide angle, brilliant night mode and zoom, plus 2 days battery with the option of very fast charging (and also wireless), very good display and great performance - what more could you want? Okay, but there are a few things: 3.5 mm audio jack, but the speaker can be on the bottom edge (instead of USB C), smaller notch (or its removal?) And a few changes in EMUI. Fast, very efficient processor, large amount of RAM memory, great display and currently the best camera on the market according to DXO is undoubtedly the greatest advantages of this smartphone. As for me, what most appeals to this device is a camera. Photos taken by this smartphone do not need to be improved and processed. They are perfect for Instagram, Facebook, or as videos on YouTube, Snapchat or Instagram TV. We deal with three cameras at the back and one at the front. The front is a 24 Mpx transducer with f / 2.0 light and 3D depth control. On the back you will find the 40Mpx system with f / 1.8, 20Mpx with f / 2.2 and 8Mpx with f / 2.4. The second camera is super-wide, and the third telephoto lens has optical image stabilization (OiS). The first two - stabilization based on Artificial Intelligence (AiS). The pictures come out really great. The color scheme is decently balanced, it is very sharp and clear. You can see the great work of the entire optical system as well as the software. PROS - a powerful Kirin 980 processor, - good optimization of Android 9.0, - great workmanship, - waterproof and dustproof housing, - attractive design, - a bright and detailed screen, - long battery life, - very fast 40W charger (70% battery charge in 30 minutes), - fingerprint reader in the screen, - improved face detection (3D Face Unlock), - Qi wireless charging, - wireless recharging, - very good quality of photos and recordings, - optical zoom 3x (8 Mpx) and hybrid 5x, - infrared transmitter with the function of a universal remote control, - slot for NM memory cards. MINUSES - lack of a classic 3.5 mm headphone output (there is an adapter), - at the moment there is no UHD recording in 60 fps. - NM memory card slot instead of microSD card - speaker built into the usb-c socket - "gluegate" issue.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2019-10-23 T10:33:31.320-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_sku200447, prod, sort_default
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.