Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Average customer reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Camera 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
46 out of 4896%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Filter by rating
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsAdd your own review
What is relevancy sort?
Relevancy sort puts the best reviews at the top. We look at things like helpfulness votes, latest reviews, pictures and other traits that readers look for in their reviews.
Sort order:
A Flagship smartphone winner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 22, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. With ever changing smartphone market it is difficult to keep up with changes as new smartphones comes every month. I switched to Mate 20 pro from flagship phone of a prominent brand in smartphone industry. My initial impression after few weeks of usage of this impression was splendid. I was spellbound and fascinated by the screen, battery, camera, 3d face unlock. Pros: Magnificent screen display Splendid battery Wide angle camera set up Superfast 3D face unlock Fast processor Cons: Slow inscreen fingerprint sensor Snappy EMUI As this is my first Huawei phone and with on going controversy of Huawei brand i was bit hesitant to switch to Mate 20pro but all my mind's inhibition and worry proved to be wrong once I started using this phone as my daily routine smartphone. Mate 20pro really makes your life easy.For me battery is the main feature to decide how any phone should be rated. Battery of this phone easily stays for 2-3 days with on one charge. It is so quick to charge that 1hr of phone charge is more than enough of 1 day phone usage. Next important thing in smartphone for me is screen display. Screen display is that feature in any smartphone which differentiates it from other smartphones. Mate 20pro by far got the best display available in the market which takes a whole experience of watching videos to next level. Coming to the camera of this phone, night mode and wide angle set up on back camera is most outstanding feature which is missing from many flagship smartphone. Photo quality is easily comparable to DSLR. Front camera does a fine job as well. 3D face unlock is super fast and very effective in dark as well but in-screen fingerprint scanner needs a lot of improvement. Software of Huawei which is a skin on stock Android is not a smooth and won't give a pure android experience in terms of updates. AI of Huawei is one of the feature which comes very handy in camera and other apps. Mate 20 pro has new chipset which is very fast and optimized as per the software of the phone. Wireless charging is also one of the feature which makes it way apart from other flagship smartphones. All in all Mate 20 Pro is the best smartphone available in the market and there is no doubt in my mind that it is the real WINNER in this race of flagship smartphones. I would recommend this phone to anyone who is looking for a REAL smart phone not a phone with just a name smartphone.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good if your willing to put in the work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 20, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. When you first set eyes on this device your think it is the birthchild of two other popular high end mobile phones, which is not a bad thing. Then you look at the back and notice the cluster of cameras and realise it is a different beast altogether. The hardware is top notch (get it? I will leave my puns out from now on). The hardware, the screen, the battery and the camera, all scream bleeding edge tech. However where the phone falters to its rivals is in its software. Don’t get me wrong EMUI 9.0 is good if your new to android however, if you come from the background of the Pixel or Oneplus your sure to be disappointed with the operating system (OS). While you can try to fix things (which takes a lot longer than it should do) by changing to a different launcher, you will be disappointed with the support and the bugs which come about, for example using the most popular launcher on the app store or any other 3rd party launcher there is an annoying little bug which if you try to close an app using gestures it always albeit briefly opens up the multitasking pane, not the end of the world but one of many annoyances. There are other apps that can sort these issues, but most shouldn’t be issues that needs to be fixed. Another issue which still takes up some of my time day to day is the strict rules on power consumption of each app, meaning that if you do not use an app for a little while (I.e 10 mins) it closes the app and does not run in the background. An example is the popular doorbell app from a large online retailer, it will not send notifications of motion or the ringing door unless you change some options buried deep down in the settings which tells the device to always keep the app running. Once you have got it configured to how you want it, and everything seems to be running as expected this phone is great. You will be in awe of the pictures and the camera AI. The blend of the 3 modules is perfect, Wide angle is awesome and the zoom lens just blew me away with the quality. Look at one of my example images, top image is 1x and the bottom image is 10x and the quality looks great. Your be the envy of most friends with the Face ID and under screen fingerprint reader. The speed of this new chip outperforms anything else on the market currently. The battery is a little (not so little in this case) special I can happy go throughout the day without the need to worry
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun, Fabulous and Faultless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 15, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.This is a natural, down to earth review as I’m no tech queen but I do love new tech! I thought I had the best phone out there, it was a top brand/model and it was my baby...I am heartbroken to say I now have a new baby who I love so much more than I ever did my old one and I didn’t think that would ever be possible! When my phone arrived I was nothing but amazed. The ‘wow’ factor was certainly prominent within just the first half hour of using it. Here are just 10% of my fav features! •The AI tech is so fun•Without doubt,the best feature is the superb camera and this has actually really got me into photography,so much so I’m now looking into photography courses and changing my career path! It really is that good and that much fun to play around with all of the new,exciting and unique camera features/settings.The ‘beauty’ feature actually makes me look half decent on my worst days!! The portrait mode gives a crisp focus and a slight blur of the background and night mode is unbelievable. •The videos are just as good, capturing both the picture and sound perfectly. •I absolutely love the design,it’s so sleek and lightweight.The HD large screen is curved and flawless. •I am a heavy user yet the battery lasts 2 days! •The speakers provide me with fab sound. •My fav: Did you know there are 2 phones in 1?! The ‘PrivateSpace’ is just like a second phone built into the which is great for business or such without having to carry a separate device around.I haven’t seen this mentioned much but it’s is one of my favourite features.Dual sim isn’t supported so i have downloaded a calling app which has given me another number for my PrivateSpace!If you don’t fancy setting up two phones... •There’s a feature called ‘App Twin’ which allows you to have two app accounts running at the same time to save you switching accounts which again,is great for businesses and social media etc if you have more than one account. •Screenshots are so quick with a double tap of the knuckle! You can also screen record and screen shot whilst scrolling with the ‘scrollshot’ feature. •Face recognition hasn’t let me down once and it’s extremely handy, i couldn’t be without this now. •Fingerprint lock is also reliable and allows super quick access. The wireless charging is great and the fact you can quickly charge other devices wirelessly is so cool! I literally cant fault my new baby, i'm totally in love...
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flagship phone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 14, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been almost two weeks now since I've been using the Huawei Mate 20 Pro. I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review, and so I've been putting it through it's paces. I would consider myself a heavy phone user, normally by around 7pm, I'm reaching for the charger with my old phone. Not so with the Mate 20 Pro. The battery is immense! I can easily double the screen time from my old phone using this one! So that's a good point. Another good point, the camera. At first I wasn't amazed, then I released you must change resolution in settings. Default is 10 meg pixels, switching to 40mp gives amazing results. BTW, switching to 40mp disables the zoom and wide lens options, so remember to switch back to 10mp to get the use of those lenses back. About those other lenses, I've found the wide angle extremely useful, fitting in to the frame a lot more when there is no option to walk further back from what you want to capture. Beware though, there can be barrel distortion if you get too close to your subject using this wide lens. The telephoto I'm not so sure about. Granted it does get the long shots, but the quality to my eyes could be improved. It's a small niggle, but overall, considering, all the cameras as a package, I really can't grumble. The 3D live maker app is immense fun and should be your 1st app to download when you get your Mate 20 Pro. It shows off the forward facing 3d scanner to it's best. Bringing small toys to life is so much fun, even for a nigh on 50 year old kid like me. That same front scanner is also used for facial unlock. This works in total darkness, and I find it can unlock faster than the in screen finger print sensor. I've found the finger print sensor to be accurate I'd say 80% of the time. I am using a film type screen protector, so going without may improve on that, but personally I prefer the odd miss read knowing I have the security of the screen protection. BTW, don't bother with tempered glass screen protectors if you ever want to use the fingerprint sensor. The few I tried were abysmal, so that is one downside of having that sensor embedded in the screen. The only other problem I've come up against is using Google Assistant. You say "OK Google", to wake phone, however, I've found then that although the dots on the bottom are waiting for your next dictation, the mike is turned off. Maybe it's a Huawei problem, maybe Google? All in all I've immensely enjoyed using the Mate 20 PRO, 5 STARS
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection...once tweaked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 18, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Upon unboxing the huge curved edge OLED screen not only looked fantastic switched off, but when switched on showed its true brilliance with vibrant colours and true blacks. The sizeable 128GB memory is expandable however, uses a proprietary memory card rather than micro-SD. I loved the symmetrical design of the rear camera, it protrudes slightly from the main phone housing, but I found that my after-market case gave additional protection. Additionally, the camera sits high on the rear, out of the way of index fingers (and fingerprints) when held in my ‘typing' position. I found the handset lacking in a 3.5mm headphone jack, that is included on the sister Mate 20 handsets. Although a 3.5mm to USB-C converter is included, it does however prevent charging while using wired headphones. On the subject of charging, although the super charge does pretty much do 0-100% in around 30mins, I didn't find the battery life any better than my P20 based on my level of use; despite the 'much hyped' extra-long battery life of the Mate 20. However, I do stream internet radio for 8hours a day from my work desk and again we're back to the point of the missing 3.5mm headphone jack. The reverse wireless charging is a bit of a novelty, however could gain you a lot of friends at a festival. Phone setup is straightforward using the phone clone app, although some apps were corrupted during transfer and had to be re-installed. Nevertheless, the extremely fast processor and 6GB of RAM made up for any of these frustrations as anything I accessed or viewed was completed in the blink of an eye. Face unlock is included on the phone which I found could be hit and miss in low light conditions, but the in-screen fingerprint sensor is quick and largely reliable, even with an after-market screen protector applied. It would be remiss of me not to mention the Leica camera, probably the best on the market with a whopping 40MP wide angle lens, a super wide angle lens and a telephoto lens for a proper zoom. The AI technology automatically scans and identifies the subject off your photograph to give the best shooting mode. Additionally the Aperture shooting mode, lets you take bokeh portraits and adjust the focus after you've taken the photo. Finally I found the Night mode to be super quick, allowing you to take clear images without the need for a tripod or holding your breath while it takes in all the light.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The King Of Smartphones!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 14, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. The Mate 20 Pro looks and feels fantastic in the hand. It's Water resistant upto IP68, it means you can leave the new phone submerged at a depth of 2m for 30 minutes, and there’s a new underwater camera mode. The speaker is embedded into the USB-C port. There are tiny holes on the top and bottom which emit surprisingly loud stereo sound. There's also no 3.5mm headphone jack but USB-C headphones are provided in the box.
The OLED screen has vibrant colours, wide viewing angles and high brightness. I love the new curved sides, content appears to wrap around the edges when you scroll. It's one of the first major phones to have an in-screen fingerprint scanner, but I'm not quite sure why the fingerprint scanner is necessary at all because you can unlock the Mate 20 Pro using the new 3D face scanner. This does the job in a fraction of a second when you pick up the phone.
Powering the Mate 20 Pro is the 7nm Kirin 980, paired with 6GB of RAM. This makes it the fastest chip in an Android phone yet. Internal storage is 128GB with the option to expand that with a 'nano memory card' to add an extra 128GB. These cards are new but cost over double the price of a standard microSD card, but at least you've got the option to upgrade if required.
The phone has a triple camera setup which is very impressive indeed, even indoors in dim light, I was able to capture sharp photos of people with good colours and minimal noise. The main camera has an incredible Night mode and the ultra-wide lens can also be used for macro, allowing you to get closer than ever before. It's also has Master A.I. which is is fantastic, it's able to recognise 1500 scenes and it can track the important objects in a scene and will help to ensure your photo is in focus when you take it. There's a 24Mp camera on the front and it does a great job. All this combined makes the Mate 20 Pro the most versatile camera phone I have used.
Battery size is 4200mAh, which is one of the biggest on any phones currently and the phone lasts longer than any other phone I have ever used. Huawei includes a new 40W Super Charger which provides a 70 percent charge in 30 mins to an empty battery. It's super duper fast. There's also another new called Reverse wireless charging allows you to charge your friend's phone, so long as it supports the Qi standard.
My verdict:
The Mate 20 Pro is easily one of the best flagship mobiles available
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Camera's and battery steal the show
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 7, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. If you want the TLDR summary: The cameras are amazing and the battery has won every single day!
I use my phone a lot, being a commuter in London there are plenty of opportunities to catch up on steaming shows, listening to Spotify, browsing the news, reddit, etc while commuting. I didn't manage to run the battery down once in a single day. Even after heavy use I still have plenty of battery to head out for drinks not worrying my phone might die and I wouldn't be able to get an uber home if necessary. If you have the fast charger handy, you could charge it for 20 minutes and have enough for half the day or more. It's great not having to worry about midday charges.
I've taken the camera out in multiple scenario's, night shots along the Thames in London City, Kew Gardens on a bright sunny day, indoor portraits of a friend’s baby, restaurants with fancy food, it performed amazingly in every scenario. The Wide angle is the true star, you can capture fantastic landscapes, superb macro photos, great indoor shots without having to try back into a corner to capture a wide scene. Night mode works really well to, it's probably best at dusk/dawn and in town night shots, it's not magically going to make a pitch-black night photo come out looking like day but it does transform low light pictures into what I could only describe as the HDR of the night.
The screen is well balanced without being overly vivid as some OLED screens can be, the curved edges look great but in practise make finding a glass screen protector which fits perfectly near impossible which led me to get the protective film type which looks & works much better than I was expecting. The in-screen finger print reader works really well with the film protector, first time 99% of the time for me. If you do use an add tempted glass screen protector then the in-screen finger print reader will drive you mad, it isn't made to work with the added thickness of the additional glass. Saying that the facial recognition is extremely fast so you don't even get a chance to use the scanner.
If I was to fault the phone on anything, it would be the speakers which could have been better but I don’t really use them so I'm fine with it. Also coming from OnePlus, the EMUI launcher could do with being a little more stock. As you would expect the phone is ultra-responsive, Apps open before you know it and makes switching between Apps a breeze
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My futuristic Mate, 20+ features abounding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 5, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Having only read, researched and watched numerous reviews of this phone, I was excited to unbox and review it myself.
1. The phone is solid, with just the right heft, curved edges providing a sleek smooth feel coupled with a brilliant crisp display
2. Super-fast charger, 39% to 93% in 26 mins
3. 3D Face recognition to unlock the device with Direct unlock after successful facial recognition, making it extremely easy to just pick up and use
4. Onscreen fingerprint, with easy icon showing the spot to press finger when you pick it up
5. Phone clone app to transfer contents, messages, apps from old phone in minutes
6. Themes, Wallpaper and Icon options to make my Mate unique - Luxury Black theme goes well with the Darken interface colours settings, changing the entire UI to dark mode
7. Running Android Pie, the EMUI additional settings and plethora of options are well worth the inclusion, providing a rich user experience
8. Knuckle gestures knock knock or S for scrolling screenshot, C for camera and more, make for a smart productive Mate
9. Added quick setting toggles, compared to standard OS – ability to switch NFC on/off
10. Change the 3-key navigation to Gestures, easy to use with more screen and swipe from right/ left to of screen to go Back
11. Reverse charge another phone, works with cases on
12. Camera, in the auto mode, with AI turned on produces well exposed, crisp photos
13. Scene modes like Portrait, Night or Aperture, provide for even better creative pictures- ability to control bokeh effects or render light trails..
14. Pro Camera mode allows ISO and Shutter tweaking for desired effects like long exposures at night time - needs a steady hand or stand, but fantastic if you want to ditch your DSLR for a trip
15. Was able to to click pictures/ use the phone with normal gloves seem to work for me!!
16. Options to switch between Standard Home screen with all app or a Drawer
17. Battery lasts a day and half with moderate use which is amazing!
18. Quick toggle to start screen recorder, easy to record and share, step by step “how to …” with friends/ family
19. Added app privacy by selecting app lock, unlock with fingerprint/ face unlock
20. Dedicated Tips app from Huawei show chasing all the neat little tricks the Mate has to offer
The Mate 20 Pro is a well rounded, top end Smartphone which truly pushes the feature set for any type of user - kudos to Huawei!!
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Close to perfection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 13, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Here it goes...
The phone itself as hardware is perfect. No two ways about it. The specs speak for themselves.
So Huawei did an excellent job here.
The screen is beautiful, not too saturated.
It is fast, it has a great battery, it has a fantastic camera. It is slick, well built, light.
Charge time is indeed super-fast! Especially for the size of the battery.
Call quality, connectivity (bluetooth, WiFi and 4G) are all very good.
My personal favourite: the super-macro mode! Oh wow! it is amazing that a phone can achieve these results. Photos are fantastic. Low-light/night photography excellent (for a phone). The video is also very-very good.
In all these respects, the Mate 20 Pro is indeed an improvement over the P20 Pro. Nicer screen, better camera, noticeably faster.
So why not perfect? Well....
The elephant in the room... the notch... actually THE NOTCH.
I did not expect it to be this big. I certainly prefer the P20 Pro's one.
Personally I do not like unlocking by face, and I tried the 3D scanning of objects with more failure than success.
So, I cannot justify the area used by these sensors.
Also, it was very awkward, to try to scan the object without being able to clearly see the screen.
If I was Huawei, I would minimise the notch and add this to the back of the phone, then it would be super useful for 3D scanning of objects. I think this will be the next area of innovation.
The in-screen fingerprint scanner performed consistently although it took sometime to be able to register the print.
No real complaints there.
The rest...nit-picking really!
The form-factor is like the Samsung S8+ - which I did not like.
I prefer the very slightly wider P20 Pro form-factor.
No factory-applied screen-protector or case like the P20 Pro.
Huawei, please please please do add it for the P30 Pro. Please!
It was so simple but I think it was genius!
Software... EMUI... this needs work... and it is Huawei's so... I think it is not good enough as other popular vendors.
The oversized flat circle grip on the sliders... Why? it looks terrible. How could anyone approve that?
In the end, you can get used to the issues and obviously because this is Android you can customise and not feel the pain so much. But the software part is indeed an area Huawei needs to focus on.
Could have written a bit more but in the end it is the best overall device out there.
Definitely recommended!
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of the best Flagship
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 18, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review
General Comments
We are in an age when the difference between a mid range phone and a flagship is very small, so it can be hard to justify the additional money. This phone is proof it is worth it.
Having upgraded from a Huawei P20 (a phone that I still thoroughly recommend for the price point), this feels like a phone worth twice the price!
Build Quality
First class - feels like a shiny pebble in your hand. Very large screen but easy to manage. Best in class build.
Photo
3 camera rear setup is amazing - Like a DSLR i your pocket.
Top ranked on DXO mark and you can see why when you use it. Perfect shots every time.
Night mode is amazing - this phone can see more than my eyes can!!
Wide angle - surprisingly useful - can capture so much more than a conventional phone camera
Macro mode - a whole lot of fun!
AI is really good at scene selection, but can easily be turned off if you do not enjoy.
Front facing camera is good enough, although I suspect, not class leading.
Battery Life
Best in class - 2 days easy and 7 hours screen on time
Screen
6.39" OLED screen is up there with the best screens available. Bright in sunlight, and deep blacks. Surprisingly compact form as well considering screen size.
Other Features
In screen fingerprint - impressive stuff, but I generally use face unlock which is super fast and accurate (even when dark)
Android 9 Pie out of the box with EMUI overlay. Love it, although it does occasionally look like it is trying to copy other brands.
Wireless charging - using Huawei 15W fast wireless charger is convenient and quick (although accessory is expensive)
Waterproof IP68 design so holiday photos in the pool are relatively risk free
Kirin 980 processor and 6GB RAM give reliable snappy performance - never had any issues, gaming or general use.
IR Blaster - useful when your remote control is lost down the sofa somewhere!!
Software etc - many customizations - no longer need a third party launcher
Even the ease of data transfer to computer from phone via wifi transfer (built into OS) is first class and well integrated.
Negatives:
No case or screen protector included in UK market - this was a big plus with the previous Huawei models
Curved edge screen makes it hard to find / apply a screen protector
Connectivity issues with Fitbit - Fitbit does not officially support this device
Overall - wholeheartedly recommended - provided you can afford the flagship price tag.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exquisite phone let down by small quirks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 21, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
This is my latest phone from the Huawei family, a company I've leaned to for their high quality hardware at a reasonable price, but especially for their high quality cameras especially since their partnership with Leica. 
Having come from a Huawei phone it was relatively easy to copy from one phone to the other - this wasn't faultless however and some of the app data didn't copy (not just the pay apps etc).
The phone feels fantastic in the hand, slightly slippy due to the glass back but not as significant as some other phones. One of the areas I was particularly interested in was the curved edges which make the phone feel slimmer and add a touch of class.
The position of the hardware keys and charging port are where I like them and the keys themselves are reactive to the touch without being too loose. The red power key is aesthetically a nice touch.
The camera on the phone is fantastic and pulls in some great shots. With the master AI enabled it selects from a plethora of scenes or subjects and chooses the best shot for it.  This can be frustrating as it will sometimes delay the shot from taking and then end up retaking just to make sure.  The modes do work really well and the quality of the images is fantastic and what sets the phone apart from its counterparts. I've not had as much luck with the night mode yet, but not had as much chance to use it.
There is a lot of bloatware on the phone from the default Huawei apps which aren't great, and the EMUI interface is not perfect.  It lacks some fine tuning, such as the notification dots that are employed in some 3rd party launchers.
Battery life is good, but not brilliant and I find the battery does drain during the day, disproportionate to my expectations. I appreciate this could be due to my apps but is still frustrating. Thankfully the fast charge is so effective I can top it up easily. Wireless charging is convenient, but not a game changer and probably something I'd be happy without.
Updates are slow to arrive and not always the most successful.  I'm disappointed that for such a large manufacturer the speed at which they update the Android OS is disappointing.
Fingerprint unlock and facial recognition are both very very poor, the fingerprint rarely works and never first time. The same is true for facial recognition where it is sometimes a bit more reliable but still I end up having to enter my pin more than anything else.  This is an area where I'd actually say it's a big turnoff and the inconsistency of it does make me question whether I'd want to keep this phone.
That said, on the whole it is a solid phone, well built with an excellent camera and positive points, but there are still a number of quirks that let it down and these are things available in the Android ecosystem but that Huawei have chosen not to employ.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate Camera Smartphone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 5, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
Pros
• Ultra Fast charging
• Awesome OLED Screen
• On screen fingerprint sensor
• Wireless charging/ Reverse Wireless Charging
• Battery life
Cons
• Huawei emui skin needs improving
• No 3.5mm port
My first impressions of the Mate 20 Pro is that Huawei have produced another Beast of a smartphone, beautiful, comfortable in your hands, the best camera out their by far, one of first premium smartphones to have a on screen finger scanner are just the a few things that come to mind.
The Mate 20 Pro has a 6.39 inch OLED display which looks awesome, colours which are vibrant and pleasant to the eye. I watched a few films and wasn’t let down with the quality. The on-screen fingerprint sensor is a positive, although it may take a little getting used to as I’ve been used to it being on the back of the phone. The screen is a perfect size not too big, not too small.
The camera is the best feature of the phone which delivers pictures of a dynamic range in almost all conditions. I was impressed with both the day and night mode shots I took. There are 4 rear cameras and 2 at the front. I love the AI feature which for a camera novice is brilliant, one example of this when taking a snap of little one, it faded the background. The ultra-wide rear camera delivers fantastic shots especially when taking pictures when outside. The camera is no slouch when it comes to making videos again crisp and sharp.
Moving on to the battery, the 1st thing to say about the battery is its ridiculous fast charging, rapid id an understatement to say the least. I got 50% charge in approximately 20mins. This came in real handy when charging just before going out, knowing I wouldn’t have to take a power bank or need use a car charger. This leads me on to the battery life, it was fantastic. I got over a day’s use out of this on full charge and I am a heavy user. On an average day I used the phone for taking pics, videos, social media, streaming and bluetooth connectivity with my car. I was surprised that I have battery left at the end of the day. In the morning I would just a 15-20 minute top up and would be good to go for the rest of the day.
The phone comes with android 9.0 with Huawei EMUI. Although the skin has been improved greatly, and that’s credit to them as it used to make it very bloaty. There is still room to improve but Huawei are heading the right way.
The phone comes with a USB-C port which now a standard, no 3.5 mm earphone port which I do miss. I prefer to have a separate port for charging and my earphones but this is the way most smartphone manufactures are heading.
To Summarise, would I recommend the Huawei Mate 20 Pro. The answer is simple ‘YES’. It has a camera which is in my eyes the best for a smartphone, battery life is awesome and ultra-fast charging is fantastic. An OLED screen which is on par with its rivals. An all-round great phone which I would highly recommend.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Mate 20 Pro brings a whole new meaning to flagship
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 15, 2019
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review
The Huawei Mate 20 Pro is hands-down the best smartphone I have ever held, never mind own. It is extremely capable in every aspect and it never fails to perform the most demanding or takes. It will suit everyone, from the everyday consumer to the power user. There is so much to like about it and I would love to share all of my experiences of the device with you with my review of this device.
Pros:
High-res display
2-3 day battery
0% to 70% in 30 minutes
Snappy Kirin 980 processor
2 intuitive unlock methods
3 professional cameras
Wireless charging
IP68 water resistance
Cons:
High price point
Large notch
Battery: The battery for this device is definitely one of the main selling points of the Mate 20 Pro. The outstanding 4,200mAh battery has been fitted in this device which is pretty amazing when you consider how thin it is and what the competition is putting in their devices. The large cell certainly pays off with heavy usage. The average user will be able to squeeze 2, if not 3 days of moderate use from this device. This is a big leap from other competitors and is just one of the many advantages the Mate 20 Pro has.
Charging: I felt the need to include this as a separate topic as the charging speed on this device is in a league of its own. The stellar 40W fast charger provided with the device gets the device up to a comfortable percentage super quickly. Bearing in mind that the device has a large 4200mAh battery, it manages to charge from 0% to 70% in under 30 minutes. This is pretty spectacular and the fastest speed you will find on any flagship device. Personally I found this to be my favourite feature on this device.
Camera: Just like the P20 Pro, the camera is also one of the main features of this device. It takes what the P20 Pro did and builds upon it by swapping the useless monochrome lens and provides a 12MP super wide angle lens instead. This is extremely useful and a change that I am personally glad that Huawei made. I find myself using this lens almost as much as the main one as it fits so much into the frame. Otherwise, the 40MP main shooter is super crisp and provides so much detail. It is one of the best smartphone cameras on the market along with the likes of Google and Samsung. This is another feature which defines a phone as high-end instead of mid-range.
3D face unlock and in-screen fingerprint scanner: While the in-screen fingerprint sensor is not exactly a step up from traditional scanners in terms of speed, it certainly is when it comes to style. It makes it possible for the Mate 20 Pro to avoid any rear scanner while leaving as much room for the screen as possible. While it isn't 100% accurate, I found myself using it more than I expected to. When it doesn't work, that's when the 3D IR face scanner shows its accuracy and power. It is super quick and generally doesn't allow you a chance to view the lock screen as it turns on so quick.
Speed: The Kirin 980 chip is by far the fastest processor in any phone currently. While it may be superseded by the upcoming Snapdragon 855, it is unlikely to bring much improved speeds over this chip. It is blazingly fast and I am yet to experience any stutter at all. It is powerful enough for all games I have tested and I have yet to find an app where it doesn't perform better than any of its competitors. The processor also does a great job of preserving battery by forcing intensive apps to close. The clever machine-learning algorithms are great at only closing what is not used and I found it keeping my most used apps consistently open while closing unnecessary ones.
Software: While EMUI is known to be quite a heavy experience over stock Android, I have found the largest version which runs Pie from the box, to be super refined. Compared to EMUI 8 on my previous P20, the experience is a whole lot smoother and a pleasure to use. They have made many small tweaks which overall translates to a much more refined experience. Like always, I love Huawei’s stunning pictures used as themes throughout the interface and I really welcome the ease of navigation through apps and settings. While not perfect, I find the whole experience more and more like IOS by the update (not a bad thing at all!)
Price: This is an important topic to discuss as the price will obviously be an important factor for most. At £899, it isn’t exactly cheap however it is exactly in line with there the high-end phone market is at at the moment. £899 is very reasonably priced and it is easy to see how the production cost is so high when looking at the amount of tech they crammed into this device. However, if that price is too much to swallow, I highly recommend taking a look at the Mate 20 Pro’s brother, the Mate 20. This can be found for £600 and boasts many similar features as the Mate 20 Pro so it is worth taking a look at. That also goes for the Mate 20X which has a whopping 7.2 Inch display which may be a bit much to handle for some but attractive for others!
Other features: The most notable added feature is the ability to wirelessly charge other devices supporting the QI standard. This feature is a pretty nifty party trick and works pretty well. There are also a couple of other cool features such as the wireless desktop projection via miracast. This is pretty cool and really handy for projecting stuff from your phone direct to your T.V. Another cool thing you can do with your T.V is control it with the IR blaster fixed to the front of the phone. The last notable mention is the inclusion of IP68 water resistance. This means that your phone will easily survive a dunk in the pooling I think it’s a feature Huawei made a great decision to add.
Overall, there is so much to like about this phone and very little to be wanted. The whole experience is so enjoyable and every aspect of the interface is so snappy and refined that it is hard to find flaws. While there are small things which could be improved on, most of them are software related which I have no doubt that Huawei is working to improve all the time. These are small trade offs to be able to own arguably the best phone on the market. Hands down the best phone of 2018 for me and only time will tell how this position will progress as we move through 2019 although it continues to steadily maintain it's ground.
I recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2019-11-19 T13:57:54.439-06:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_sku200447, prod, sort_default
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.