Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Camera 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
63 out of 6498%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Camera 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
63 out of 6498%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Average customer reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Battery Life 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Camera 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
63 out of 6498%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Filter by rating
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsAdd your own review
What is relevancy sort?
Relevancy sort puts the best reviews at the top. We look at things like helpfulness votes, latest reviews, pictures and other traits that readers look for in their reviews.
Sort order:
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Impressive Upstart
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 4, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. I love this phone. It has been a real pleasure to use and I plan to keep it. Positives first; large bright screen but still small enough to fit in one hand. Placement of the fingerprint sensor like the other models in the range is excellent and intuitive. Fast processor, I've not noticed any lag in my normal (impatient) use, and only very slightly when it's been running for 2 weeks solid and I forgot to close 40 running apps - but that was fixed in 5 seconds! The camera is excellent even on this basic model in the range, the quality of the photos and the speed that it works at is very impressive. It's not quite DSLA quality, but it's very very good and fast (which is as important to me as overall quality). Negatives: strange cut out at the top of the screen for the front camera and speaker - love it or hate it, I think it's odd. The screen form factor means that 90% of apps run with a black bar at the bottom unless you tell the app to change resolution, very annoying. Not a negative but worth noting that this uses the new USB-c connector, so you need to order a whole new set of leads or adaptors to work with any existing usb-b kit you have. Overall this is a brilliant phone and doesn't suffer from some of the issues that it's lower priced siblings do, although it's the baby in the P20 range it does not feel like it.
I recommend this product
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Huawei P20 Lite, a pleasant discovery
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 2, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
My previous smartphone died during a holiday on the Northern coast of Spain.
However, It was already showing some signs of aging and It died on a sunny and warm day and, in a way, I felt it was quite a good way to go.
After that happened, I did wait a little bit before getting another smartphone and, I have to say, Huawei P20lite has been a great way to get back to the ever-connected world. This is my first experience with Huawei, but many friends had spoken very enthusiastically about this brand already and it felt natural to give it a try. And I am very happy I did. It’s all veryintuitive and easy to access, which makes it a very accessible phone even for the non-geeky ones. First of all, as many have pointed out already, I really like the sleek yet simple design, which makes it very attractive for being a mid-range phone. It surely is the most elegant phone I have ever possessed, definitely a plus in the mid-range phone market.
Its screen-to-body ratio is an impressive 80 percent and it even has facial recognition feature.
I would definitely recommend buying a case and a screen cover as soon as possible though, as they do not come
together with this version and it’s definitely a very smooth and slippery phone. Two other strong points are the 64GB internal memory - ideal for music lovers like myself – but I am also chuffed by its battery life which is making my life so much easier now (I used to go around with a lot of USB cables and chargers and it is quite relaxing and liberating not to have to remember it all the time!).
It charges very fast anyway, the battery can last up to two days with light use, and it’s ideal for people who use the phone a lot, more for social media and taking pictures than heavy gaming. Last but not least the dual
camera is really impressive. I had read mixed comments online about the “Bokeh” effect and how it was underwhelming for some. I guess I am not talking much about that specific feature, rather the camera performance in general and I can say this is by far the best camera I have ever had on a phone (always referring to mid-range market here): crisp details,
depth of field, plenty of room for some good fun for taking videos as well.
All in all, I am really happy with it, and I definitely recommend it. I just might not take it with me on my next hiking trip to Spain (*just kidding here*), of course, I will take it with me!
I recommend this product
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Good value, premium look!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 27, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review This phone has been my daily driver since the start of the campaign. There are many things that Huawei has done to ensure that this phone stands out from other mobiles within the same price bracket that it is aiming at. It sports a premium look for the price range it is targeting. Elegant finish and pleasing to the eye, although I would much prefer for there to not have a notch however this is just my personal opinion. The back is made of glass, it does show some fingerprints marking which is the only caveat when using this type of material, although it does feel premium in the hand. It has rounded corners which I prefer a lot as the phone looks sleeker and is more ergonomic in hand. The phone is also quite light for it's size which is a great bonus. The phone runs smooth and quick, I haven't noticed any hiccups on it. Have tried some basic games on it which it seems to run well, no notable frame rate dips that I have observed. Although I am not much of a gamer. There is a dual lens camera located at the back of the phone, the rear camera is great for taking outdoor pictures during day, the colours pop well and there is good contrasting, it also did not do too much post processing which contributes to a positive image result. Although like most cameras, it struggles to capture clear images within dark settings, the colours are muted and there is much more noise that I would have liked, details don't seem to be captured clearly however this is expected for low light photography. The front facing camera is great for taking selfies, it has a beauty mode which can be lowered, and captures the images quite well, it is also used for face unlock which can quickly unlock your phone. Huawei uses EMUI skin as their interface, I found it to be simple and easy to use with intuitive gesture controls and plenty of settings that are available to the consumer. Overall I have had a pleasant experience with this phone, and would greatly recommend it to friends and family.
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Good phone but not powerful enough for my usage
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 27, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
I love the look and feel of the P20 Lite. Over the weeks I've been using the phone I've found it has a decent camera and a quick response fingerprint reader. I've not used a phone with the fingerprint reader on the back before, it can be annoying if you want to unlock the phone when it's been put down but I got used to it quite quickly. The phone was a little slow for the games I usually play, I found it lagged a little. I would recommend this phone to people that are not heavy phone game users. This phone would suit my wife well but for me not so much but if I had the pro model I believe it would be more what I am used to. I do like how the screen fills the whole phone, it maybe a novelty but it's actually quite cool when you use it. It is a nice sleek slim phone, it has a bright screen and the colours look very bold.
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Seriously impressed with the camera
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 26, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. My first impressions of this phone are very good. The glass screen and curved edges give it a really sleek finish. It is also noticeably lighter than other phones I have used previously. Before I talk about any other features I have to mention the camera. It is seriously impressive. The images are really high quality and the option to choose different shooting modes is a great feature. If you like to take a lot of photos with your camera you will definitely not be disappointed with this phone. The way the apps have been categorised alphabetically is pretty helpful and again, a handy feature that I really like. I tried to take a screenshot in the normal way that you would on an android phone and quickly realised that you can take a video of your screen! I haven't seen this capability on a phone before. This is a really great phone and I would definitely recommend to a friend.
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
good purchase
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No3
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 24, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review so I only paid half price, I was going to send it back at the end of the test period but have decided to keep it because I was so impressed with it. Obviously for photos and videos it is brilliant, lots of filters and effects to play with, sharp and clear and the HD camera is very good especially with macro. it is also really good for gaming or watching videos etc, the fingerprint scanner is accurate and it is really good for gaming as well, crisp clear graphics no lag and thanks to the 64 GB internal memory plenty of capacity for music and anything else you might want, also when using as a phone very clear good volume
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No3
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Excellent value and quality
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 23, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. To clarify, this means that I paid a discounted price for it, and have the option to return it after six weeks if I don't like it. I plan to keep it. I'd also be happy if I'd paid full price for it. By choosing the Lite version you're making a choice to go for value rather than the highest end features. But coming from a mid range, big name phone which was a couple of years old, the P20 Lite doesn't feel like a compromise. Rather, it feels like a huge leap forward. The level of tech at this price is impressive. I'm not a power user but I am tech savvy. I use my phone quite a lot but mainly for social media, news and podcasts. I'm more of a snapshot photographer than someone who puts time into photos. And I don't use it for games. The screen is big, clear and bright, and I never wished for an OLED. The battery life will last a couple of days with light use, or a full day with very heavy use. It charges super fast so a quick top up is not a problem. The camera is great. Very clear, bright, sharp and fast. The additional lens makes wide apperture portrait style photos looks gorgeous. The 'beautification' functions smooth your blemishes but can be a bit intrusive and can be easily switched off. The selfie camera seems every bit as good as the main one. I especially like the fast shoot function, where you can double click the volume bottom from a locked phone to a take a pic in under a second. The Huawei version of Android is light touch and not intrusive, and much less bloaty than other some other big name Android phone makers. It has some neat auto optimisation options built in, although occasionally the phone can hang a bit if these are working in the background. The built in email app is quite powerful and works with Microsoft exchange, so is good for work. There's no waterproof rating, so on long sweaty bike rides I've been keeping it in a small plastic bag in my pocket. I guess I don't really want to find out the hard way how waterproof it really is. The fingerprint scanner is very quick and pretty foolproof. Set up was also quick and easy, and I had the option not send data (backups and photos) to Huawei. Overall I'm very happy with this phone. It's impressive tech for the money, and does all the basics very well, with some nice bonuses from the camera.  
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Love it
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 23, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. I usually buy/use a basic phone which tends to have a very basic camera. This is the most technical one I've ever had. I'm still figuring out all the gadgets but think it's good. Sometimes it would be simpler if it would take it basically and then you could tweak it as on some I didn't even realise I was choosing moving photo etc. That could be more me than the phone though! On the whole I like it and I'm looking forward to discovery more things I can do. Straight away I was impressed at the quality feel of the phone, just the slipperiness as I mentioned before a slight negative to that. The screen is great and very responsive. As I said I'm not hugely techy but I managed to navigate my way through the settings to get it set up for me. I like the placing of the side buttons. Previously on phones when I've supported one side when trying to press a button I've inadvertently pressed another and turned sound off or similar which was highly annoying! Clear layout of apps and generally I'm impressed with all aspects of the P20 lite and really am happy using it.
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
If you're after a budget phone then this isn't bad
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 22, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Huawei has come up with a decent line up for the P20 range. Considering the P20 lite is the entry model - you get great value for money, but what does this actually mean to you and me. Well its a great sized phone, not too big, not too small. The design is slim with a oddly positioned finger print sensor on the back. I've never quite understood why manufacturers have considered this position because the finger has to be placed in a really unnatural position to use it to unlock the phone or pass security. That set aside, the phone is very slim and just, well...very slippy. It has no grip to it at all - expect for it to slip out of your pocket unless you have a case. Saying that, the camera bezels out very very noticeably so without a case which is as thick as the bezel, you will not be able to put this phone on a flat surface comfortably as it'll keep rocking around. The phone does have a quality look to it though however when you hold it in your hands vs the other P20 range, you can easily tell this is a budget phone. I'm not sure what it is that makes it budget'y but an example could be the power button, which has a clicky cheap feel to it. The battery life is decent, software takes a bit of getting used to if your used to other phone manufacturers, camera quality is decent but thats as far as it goes. Speed is good and no significant lag but when you use other P20 models, you can instantly tell the difference with the 'ability for the phone to recognise what your taking a photo of'. Other, better P20 models have the ability to recognise that you're taking a photo of a person so will focus sharply on a person and blur the background entirely like a profession shot, whereas this one struggled in this department. However, for the casual user who just wants photos then this is adequate. Overall though, for someone who doesn't want to splash out too much on a phone but wants decent all rounder then this is a good product. I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
I recommend this product
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Insufficient battery
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 22, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. Having used the phone daily, I'm frustrated by its inability to last a full day without requiring a recharge. It sometimes requires 2 charges in one day. I've tried changing various battery settings, switching WiFi/location/data off when not using them but it made little difference. I found the screen very narrow, using it in portrait view was slightly odd as the centre of gravity is higher than I would expect. The rear of the phone is quite slippery and it will slide off surfaces which aren't totally flat. In addition, the sides are curved. All of this mean that the phone can but quite awkward to hold, many times I felt like I could drop the phone without holding it tightly. A further disadvantage of this is that, due to the curved screen sides, it is very easy to inadvertently 'press' things at the side of the screen due to holding the phone tightly. The phone performance is fine, ocasionally brief delays but nothing of great concern. Multitasking works well and switching between apps is swift. The notch in top of the screen for the camera, speaker and sensors, along with the narrowness of the screen, mean that there is little space for the various icons at the top of the screen and they are extremely small as a result. I found myself holding closer to my eyes to see some icons which change by only a few pixels to indicate some change. I have found the auto screen brightness quite frustrating. It always wants to increase the brightness more than I desire. There have been some occasions when I have turned it down manually then then phone has turned it back up again almost straight away. This may be part of the reason behind the poor battery life. I can't confirm whether this is due to the phone itself or Android. A lot of fuss was made about the 'Bokeh' photos. It took me a few days to find the setting (it's only available in portrait mode) and when I did I was a little underwhelmed. I took several photos using the mode in which there was no obvious focus difference between the foreground and background. In some the background was 5-10m back but almost as well focussed as the foreground. Overall, while the phone's performance is good I found too many negative points to be able to recommend the phone to others.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
P20 Lite is the best
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 22, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review. After a specific amount of time spent with this phone, I now am ready to write up my review. My first impressions of this phone when I opened it was that the screen had a dazzling shine to it, the light weight and smooth design looks perfect for a starter phone and for me.I wouldn't want this phone's matte aluminium frame damaged thus as a precaution i brought a case. I love the 16 megapixel dual cameras witch i take high quality pictures this is an amazing deal one that needed to be snatched. I immediately turn it on then i needed to read the guide which gave me an idea of what i would need to do and any other important information along with it. After turning on the phone, i set it up but took some time. I found out that my favourite thing to do on the phone is turning the phone using the finger scanner. it was very quick and precise to the point that it needs an applause my previous phone wasn't as good or effective plus it didn't have this feature in which I am now happy to have, I love playing with this feature, I can place my finger upside down or even tap it and it will still work, it makes it much more easier than having to turn it on with the button and use a password. I am amazed at how the lock screen wall papers changes or even the wallpaper moves, you have to go on to the setting and change this feature though if you want it to move.
One thing that annoyed me was that i type really fast and now i have to press the keyboard words at a medium speed but not as fast as i hoped but anyways the amount of storage it has is 64gb which is very good for me seeing as i download alot of stuff. Furthermore, I find it extremely easy to adapt to the layout. I felt there are no issues with the phone i found it very simple and straight forward. The phone has it's own processor EMUI but it doesn't effective it from displaying a bright screen at all times.The 3000mah battery is superb, It can last all day and i don't use the phone while charging it one thing i learned from my other phone.
More over the speakers relay words clearly so that every word is heard, this is by far a good deal than other phones that range at the same value. The 4gb RAM helps speed up the phone, the phone hardly lags this is an ideal phone one to get. The phone does heat up after continuous play but i just let it cool down and it goes back to normal, it is somewhat annoying but doesn't over heat the phone which is good.
A final feature which i love is the dual camera. I love taking photos and when i go on holiday i take plenty of photos and with this phone it made my skin complexion crystal clear I have taken many photos that made me even more confident, I feel that this was the best upgrade from my previous phone. The phones shows the crisp details of a still photo and moving photo which is fun to use, i also love to blur the background the bokeh effect to capture stunning results and take lots of selfies all in such detail.
I was able to change and customize the phone to however i wanted by changing the layout of my apps and the background wallpaper and other stuff it did however have a limited variety of wallpapers to which i can choose from and change but that didn't stop me from choosing what i wanted also as a tech lover i love saying 'ok google' because it made things easier like setting the alarm and searching for items on the internet.
Overall this phone has made my life much more easier it is good for people who don't want to splash their cash on very expensive phones because it can do just as much and much more it has a gorgeous design for the phone with amazing screen quality,a very good grip, it can take clear photos and selfies and has a long battery life. I highly recommended this phone to everyone who either want this as a starter phone or someone who is looking to upgrade their phone.
I recommend this product
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Good value for money
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 22, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Screen Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
The P20 Lite is marketed as a mid range phone, costing £300-£350 at the time of writing and has good specs for the price.
Physicallly, the phone has a 5.84" screen and is a good weight. However, the phone is quite 'skinny' – as a personal preference, I prefer the phone to be shorter and wider.
The ports comprise of: USB-C for charging, 3.5mm headphone jack and dual sim card/ micro SD card tray.
There is a sticker on the back of the phone detailing the locations of the ports, microphone, speaker, power button, volume buttons and NFC sensor. Also included are instructions on howto load a sim and micro SD card. The text is written in a goldy-brown colour, however, and is quite small which makes it nigh on impossible to read.
The P20 Lite can support up to 256GB micro SD card, and has a 64GB internal drive. Unless you really load your phone down with music and videos, you may get away running on internal memory only.
There are lots of settings for customisation of pretty much everything – there are too many to list, but extra points go to being able to turn off the Google feed.
The simple mode is excellent for more technologically challenged people, but it is a shame that you can only use the Huawei contacts and not swap it with the Google contacts.
The phone is nice and quick. Apps and internet are fast to load and I noticed that there was no real bloatware on the phone – partly as it was unlocked, so no network apps preloaded – and the only duplications were things like calendar and photo gallery when I synced up my Google account.
Phone calls were clear and the volume was certainly sufficient – I left mine at just over halfway. It also remained clear on speaker phone.
Messaging is easy to use and you can construct using swype style or standard typing. It also has the emojis and symbols you would expect.
The camera is boasted to be quite spectacular as it uses a dual 16MP and 2MP lenses, but I didn't find it to be any more special than other phones. Videos were fine.
I loaded Amazon music player onto the phone and was pleased with the clarity and volume of the speakers. I found that I only had to have the volume up between half and three quarters, depending on environment, and it didn't sound tinny.
Youtube and BBC iPlayer worked without issues and the screen is sharp and bright, even when using the full screen mode.
Full screen mode can also be used on other apps and I tried it on a few games. It didn't seem to make too much of a difference, but it also didn't make anything crash. All games I tried worked fine and there was no issue with lag.
All in all the battery life wasn't bad. It lasted two days with light use and a day heavy use. The phone supports quick charge, and on testing found that it took about 47 minutes to charge to 50% and about 1 hour 53 minute to chrage to 100%. This was from a completely dead battery – I ran the phone down until it switched itself off at 0%.
Wifi and bluetooth worked with no issues. I like that the wifi is dual band as my router is AC dual band.
The only other inconvenience I found with the phone was that the sim/SD card tray has to be opened with a pin (I appreciate this is common).
Overall, I am quite impressed with the P20 lite, but I don't know if it is that much of an improvement over the P Smart, which is significantly cheaper.
I recommend this product
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
'lite' but heavy on features
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 22, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
I am a big Huawei fan and use the Mate 10 pro as my everyday phone so I was very curious to see how the new entry level P20 lite would compare. The phone arrived in a very nice box with all the usual accessories, one thing missing that I did expect to see was the free clear case that comes with the more expensive versions but I guess with this been the lite version it was not feasible to add it due to cost. So I went and bought a case and tempered screen protector as the phones are very premium which means lots of glass! As I have just mentioned the phone looks and feels very premium with its glass back and full screen with the new fashion "notch" but I must say it is a thing of beauty and you a lot better looking than my mate 10 pro. I have not been a fan of of the Huawei MIUI and I always use a 3rd party launcher so I can customise it to my liking but for this review I stuck with it and to be honest I have come to like it for what it is. The phone is lightening quick and apps open in an instant. I had no issues loading premium games and suffered no lag at all. Now the big thing for me was the camera and wow did it not let me down. The 2 lenses give you amazing depth of field and allow you to create photos that you would expect to see from a DSLR camera. Battery life is not quite as good as the mate 10 pro but I didn't expect it to be as it has a smaller sized battery but to say that it was still impressive. If I was not told it was the lite version I would not have known. This is a fantastic phone with an amazing spec and at a fraction of the price of the "big boys" on the market. It has definitely opened my, eyes and I will be checking out the lite version in the future and not just jumping in for the top of the range phone as for me there is not that much difference to warrant the extra money. Love this phone and if your looking for a top spec phone then look no further and save yourselves some of your hard earned money at the same time.
I recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Great Phone, Incredible Camera
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 21, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
As a long time user of another brand of phone, I always find it hard to adjust to new models and don't always get on with Android phones. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the Huawei P20 Lite as its a very nice looking phone with its HD display and has some of the clever features including the very well positioned finger print scanner on the back of the phone!
The standout feature by far though is the amazing camera. The quality of the photos it takes are next level. I used the phone at my friend’s wedding and got some beautiful shots (helped along by a pretty venue and magic hour). One of my friends was so impressed he asked me to share the pics I took of him to use as his new Tinder profile pics! The only downfall is although the camera has a pretty decent zoom, the quality isn't as good, but this is normally what happens when you zoom too much. In terms of apps, the phone is pretty good at running several at a time and I didn't have any issues with crashes.
I'd recommend this phone particularly to someone who primarily uses their phone for social media and is looking to enhance their profiles with some great photos.
I recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This review is fromHuawei P20 lite Black.
Solid Affordable Phone
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 21, 2018
Customer Avatar
by 
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Screen Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product as part of a review program in return for an unbiased review.
I was lucky to have the opportunity to test out the new P20 and the P20 lite. My nephew and niece were in need of a new phone to play games and watch shows so I thought it would be ideal to get them to try it out with my sister's supervision.
Pros
The phone is light and well balanced for smaller hands.
It has a super bright screen that is great for games and the long battery life is ideal for watching videos.
The face and fingerprint recognition work amazingly well, in fact my sister wanted me to especially point out in this review that she managed to get the fingerprint sensor to work with her 5 year old daughter’s tiny finger as she was very impressed.
The P20 lite’s camera is also solid, it has the same functionality as its bigger brothers including the auto-detect and "beautify" function.
My sister is very happy with it and declared that she has various Samsung's and can't tell the difference - high praise indeed.
Cons
There's only really one con. The phone looks like it should be dual sim capable, it most certainly fits two sims, but upon investigation it only uses one sim and a sd card.
I recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes0No1
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2019-07-23 T10:34:19.790-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_sku200483, prod, sort_default
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.