Vodafone UK Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vodafone UK.

iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Buy iPhone 4S on the network you can depend on. Our network has the coverage, speed and capacity to let you do what you want, when you want.
Overall rating:
3.874 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
13
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
18
82 out of 11869%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
Review 1 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB Black - PAYG.

Great phone

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
by MaWakers
from Oxfordshire
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is so easy to use. Ive been used to Nokias before but my phone was old and failing so I decided to buy the 4S. Best decision Ive made. So easy to use and plenty of features.
Pros: great apps and features
Cons: battery life could be better
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB Black - PAYG.

THIS PRODUCT IS AMAZING

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
by HI786
from UK
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I THINK THIS PHONE IS GREAT BECAUSE ITS GOOD FOR KIDS AND ITS JUST SO EASY TO USE AND ITS ABIT LIKE A IPOD TOUCH!!!!!!
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Top phone

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Botty
from Southampton, UK
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone very user friendly and seems to be a lot better selection of apps on the iPhone than an android. Highly recommend
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB White.

amazing phone

+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
by jojo34
from California, USA
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first i wasnt sure about it but then i went for it and its amazing!!!
I recommend this product
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB White.

Love it!

+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
by Meeeeeeeeee1976
from Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I got it a couple of days ago after having several Ipods, it does everything I want; Text, Call, Facebook and everything. Also, I love siri... Had lots of fun with it too:)! The speaker is quite loud which I love, and I love the keyboard! But to be sure I didn't smash it, I brought an otter box case... basically I love it !!
I recommend this product
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

drops calls rubbish signal iphone 3gs was excellent

-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
by John
from england
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had iphones since they arrived in the uk , I am an apple fan but for some reason after the iphone 3gs it all went down hill poor battery, poor signal, eats home buttons
If you drop this phone you will need a new one,The only good thing about this phone is the picture of an apple on the back.Samsung galaxy s111 superior and streets a head,
Iphone 5 just a bigger Iphone 4
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

apple a day

-11points
7of 25voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewed on:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
by shamzila
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am giving the iPhone only two stars, I love the look but HATE the extra slippery glass surround, The screen is so fragile, & looking inside I can tell it uses cheap parts which are almost impossible to repair, and the iphone is just a ipod or itouch?? but with a calling and texting feauture. I have had a HTC before the iPhone, The HTC was a proper phone with GREAT features. It was so open & friendly but the iPhone feels so locked up. Its hard to explain but someone will understand lol.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
HTC OneX White
4.3 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
HTC Radar
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Samsung GALAXY SIII 16GB blue
5 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
-11points
7of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

I REGRET BUYING THIS PHONE

-30points
6of 42voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
by some dude who hates this iphone
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
is this a joke?, i mean, downloading is a nightmare and it IS NOT a "smart" phone
Pros: its a smartphone
Cons: oh god were do i start
No, I do not recommend this product.
-30points
6of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB White.

FAB IPHONE

+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
by JOSIE
from SCOTLAND
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WELL AFTER READING THE REVIEWS I AM SAD BECAUSE THESE IPHONES ARE AMAZING AND I AM PROUD OF APPLE I EVEN BOUGHT MY 74 YEAR OLD MOTHER ONE WHO FINDS IT EASIER TO USE THAN HER OLD PHONE NOW ALL MY FAMILY EVEN THE KIDS HAVE ALL GOT IPHONES WE WILL NEVER GO BACK TO ANYTHING ELSE THIS PHONE IS THE BEST YET ROLL ON IPHONE 5
FAB
Pros: loads
Cons: none
I recommend this product
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

haha haha haha, very funny apple you got me

-14points
12of 38voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
by Millionaire b4u
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is a big joke like the previous model, Its fails to do the basics and thats to pick up network coverage, I thought they sorted this out and learned from the iphone 4, I brought this thinking the issues from the iphone 4 which i owned were sorted, We wait 18 months for the same rubbish, Whats new hey Siri lol which also is a poor gimmick, The battery life is worse than the iphone 4 having owned both now, Apple are going backwards, Will someone tell the CEO of apple to tell his employees to sort out the bluetooth on the iphones as they dont seem to want to connect to my laptop or headset on a daily basis or communicate with other makes of phones at all, Will someone also tell him to tell them to sort out the battery life or at least design the next iphones for users to remove the battery if the battery is going to remain poor or is that to hard for them to do, Will someone tell him to tell them to test there iphones in the research lab before they put them in production and sell them because the antenna is very poor. Theres nothing special about iphones, Nothing at all, Nothing to justify the price tag, I never wanted to return a phone as quick as this one, This will be my last iphone until they sort it out and fix up.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-14points
12of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB White.

Fantastic phone

+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
by MusicMaestro
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this phone. Fast and very simple to use. Apple's App Store has hands down the best selection of apps available on the market. The product seamlessly integrates with your computer - PC or Mac (though Mac integration is simpler) and iCloud functionality really does help. Siri is very useful when 3G is present. I have only had success with it and this includes dictating a message whilst walking along the busiest street in my city. This is yet another success from Apple. Some difference from an iPhone 4 but if you come from a 3GS or lower or pretty much any other phone, this becomes the standard you come to expect.
Pros: siri, integration, icloud, fast, easy to use, app selection
I recommend this product
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

NOT THAT SMART A SMARTPHONE

-26points
5of 36voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
by sexypenis123
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ITS NOT VERY GOOD please dont make the same mistake i did because if u do , like me, u will be completely and utterly broke.
Pros: bloody nothing!
Cons: everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
-26points
5of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

I MADE A BAD MOVE, DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE!

-5points
8of 21voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
by llokiboyz
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just moved from a HTC Sensation XE and i seriously regret it.
For starters, i realised IOS was nowhere near as cheap as android. If you are looking for free games or apps on it, you have to download a free trial version with about one level, then buy the game for some outrageous price! I found there was a lot of lag moving between home screens, and the web browsing feature was at a terrible speed! The only thing i did like was the camera, and even that was bad
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
8of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Not Happy With This Phone

-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
by nikki360
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros -
Internet via WiFi, Facetime via WiFi, Easy to use, Good build quality if you dont drop it.
Cons -
1st of all poor signal strengh, Poor call reception and the phone crackles during a call when connected to a headset. Touchscreen keyboard is poor when texting compared to other makes of phones.
Cant bluetooth to other makes of phones my friends laughed at me when sharing files between each other via bluetooth using their phones.
As others have said poor ringtones I mean have you heard them they are worse than my phone in the late 90's.
The phone is way to expensive if you buy the handset only and the phone design is dated.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Excellent smartphone

+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
by drozzie
from UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having spent many, many weeks reading online reviews and pondering what smartphone to buy, I eventually decided to go-ahead with an iPhone 4S (after previously trying a Nokia Windows phone 7; an HTC Android phone and two BlackBerry handsets). I have to say, I am absolutely delighted with the iPhone - it is just great. It does exactly what it is meant to do.
In summary, here are some points to consider (largely based on the negative points I have read elsewhere):
Battery - all smartphone batteries drain quickly - even the newer BlackBerry models. I use my phone daily for email, texting, Facebook, Twitter, my online calendar and contacts, web browsing and, of course, phone calls. I get around 1.5 to 2 days of use - depending upon my overall use of the phone. I find this acceptable for a smartphone. Oh, I also listen to music on the train on the way to work each day.
Signal - much is written about the antenna problems of iPhones. However, I have not noticed a problem. I may (sometimes) have 1 bar less than my daughter's BlackBerry (on the same carrier) or my wife's HTC (on a different carrier). The calls are clear and do not disconnect.
Screen size - yes, it is smaller than some of the newer Android models being released. I find the screen size fine and the handset size just right to comfortably hold - not too big or too small. I found both of the BlackBerry handsets I tried too small to hold comfortably. The screen is crisp, clear and easy to view (even in bright daylight).
iTunes Sync - not a problem, just great. If you use iTunes for your music archive, then you will be familiar with the interface. However, I now use iTunes Match. My music, apps and photos now sync via iCloud – fantastic. No need to buy an iPhone with a large memory capacity – use iTunes Match instead.
Apps - what can I say? You are spoilt for choice with good quality, safe apps. I am aware of the increasing level of malware found on a few of the Android apps. You don't have this worry with apps purchased from the iTunes App Store. I use my iPhone more as a result of some excellent apps I have downloaded free (or paid a relatively small amount to download).
Web browsing - quick, smooth and responsive. For a phone (and we need to remember it is a phone and not a PC) it is pretty amazing. I must confess, the Windows phone 7 web browsing capability with IE 9 is probably better. But I am very happy with the iPhone's overall performance. I have not experienced any problems with the lack of Flash.
Camera - brilliant. Good quality pictures from such a small device. Syncs beautifully with Facebook, Flickr, etc.
Robustness – not sure, but looks relatively fragile – even though the sales assistant demonstrated how robust the handset is by banging it hard with another phone. I have purchased a pretty robust case – just in case.
OS – iOS is fantastic. It is intuitive to use and much easier than the Android OS. Only downside is the inability to customize. Not sure this is a big problem, but I am not into widgets that much.
Pros: excellent operating system, easy to use, excellent quality product, great overall package
Cons: expensive
I recommend this product
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Not a good phone

-18points
9of 36voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
by jayjay65
from Basingstoke
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought it, opened the box, Used it for a few hours, Put it back in the box, Sent it back, Enough said
No, I do not recommend this product.
-18points
9of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

iphone 4s Not that smart

+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
by Andy007
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good points:
Looks nice and sleek.
The build quality is excellent.
The phone size is perfect.
The menus and icons look fantastic its like looking at a PC screen with a high resolution graphics card.
The camera looks clear with images and video playback.
Sound & audio is not as bad as I thought, Not brill but it will do.
The phone seems easy to use and intuitive,
Surfing the internet is great.
Bad Points:
No removable battery & Needs charging daily.
Battery life is worse than I thought, upgraded to iOS 5.1 and still the same less than a day, Every few minutes I looked at this phone the battery percentage dropped even with all apps closed and Siri off, location services off, Bluetooth off, Wi Fi off in stanby mode aswell.
Overpriced and over hyped device.
The signal strength and call reception & call clarity are poor and varies in one location.
Cant transfer content to other manufacturers of phones via Bluetooth.
Texting on it is not that great on the touchscreen compared to other phones.
Drop it without a bumper case then your be looking to buy another one.
Drops calls on occasions.
All in all a Quality built device that looks good and gets you on the internet but you live or work next to a charge point,
If you want a more reliable phone that communicates with other devices, has better battery life or is designed to swap batteries on the move and does the same or a slightly better job for less look elsewhere. I think apple added a phone feature onto a mini tablet rather than a tablet feature onto a phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Great phone great features great design

+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
by shoemaker
from Dumfries
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like all smart phones suffers from short battery life. Would expect phone to come with dock for price.
Pros: great phone
Cons: poor battery
I recommend this product
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black

Very Very poor signal

-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
by roofer
from swindon
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very very poor signal strength, the worst phone for signal i have every had for 25 years,
Cons: no signal, battery life also poor
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 4S 16 GB Black
This review is fromiPhone 4S 16 GB Black - PAYG.

Superb phone

+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
by Shrimper66
from Essex, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After six years of Blackberry ownership and a lot of very careful consideration I made the switch to the i-Phone. So OK battery life can be poor but as many others have said it's on par with other smart phones. I absolutely love it and can't see me going back to BB. The only downsides are the lack of ringtones although that's hardly a huge problem, compared to the Blackberry I don't like the way the alarm function will not switch the phone on so it always has to be left on, but I simply enable airplane mode so I don't get disturbed by mails etc overnight.
Pros: design, features, performance
Cons: lack of mp3 ringtones, alarm function requires phone to be left on
I recommend this product
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.