Vodafone UK Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sony Xperia Z White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vodafone UK.

Sony Xperia Z White

Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
27 out of 3969%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for Sony Xperia Z White
Review 1 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

screen cracks easily

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
by spider1
from Woking, Surrey, UK
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have found that the screen cracks to easily. Twice now when being removed from a pocket. Repair is expensive.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Xperia Z White

Excellent,

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Stantheman
from Rochdale
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant phone , my last phone was an experia play, which was smaller, this ones huge ! But can't tell it's in my pocket, and it's lighter than I expected.
The only negative is the earphones that came with it ,they are shaped for in your ear , but the wire comes out at a funny angle and do not sit in the ear quite right.
Otherwise well impressed.
Pros: water resistant
Cons: earphones, fiddly flaps over connections, no memory card supplied
I recommend this product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Great smartphone let down by a truly awful camera.

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Hoggy30
from North Yorkshire
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really well made product that has a premium feel. Fast operation with virtually no lag, clear and sharp display and good battery performance. It's a little larger than an iPhone but has the same quality feel and is noticeably faster.
Would have given it top marks but...
Unfortunately the headline grabbing 13 mega pixel camera is a real disappointment, it's slow in operation and the image quality is truly awful. Even in good light it produces loads of noise on the images, the autofocus is slow and the images are soft and mushy. It's such a shame if Sony had got this right the phone would tick all the boxes.
Pros: quality product, fast, sharp bright display, good battery performance
Cons: camera is absolutely awful.
I recommend this product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JT243
Posted September 22, 2013
Should have waited for the z1 it has a 20 mega pixel camera
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

WEAK SCREEN!! screen cracked after 3 months, in my empty pocket!!

-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
by smithy0711
from uk
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
was having a family meal, when i removed my sony xperia z from the empty pocket i kept it in to read a received text. I was shocked to see the screen had a crack in it, from earpiece to the left hand side of the phone. Nothing sharp or tough in my pocket to damage it ,also no impact or fall. so i check it out to see if anyone else had this problem. To no surprise it seems to be a big problem. plenty of forums stating the same thing. Not dropped. Not thrown. just cracked in their pockets. I have never cracked a screen on any handset i have ever owned. Even the few i have dropped in the past. Disappointed to say the least.
Pros: waterproof, easy to use, great camera, great camera zoom
Cons: weak screens front n rear, a bit to big, rubbish speaker sound
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

decent but poor camera quality for 13mp. :-(

0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
by JonC
from England
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
decent phone, but by no means a "game-changer". Sonys best just isnt that good in comparison to the samsung and iphones for camera.
Pros: waterproof, quality design and feel
Cons: poor quality camera compared to samsung 8mp, no built in file manager
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Galaxy S4 beater in typical Sony fasion

+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Skywalker 32
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chose the Xperia Z over the Galaxy S4, as it feels so much more solid in the hand, and every bit as good in the bells and whistles department. The camera is awesome, and I have taken some amazing macro shots to date! Only down side is this phone does attract finger prints, so will require frequent wipe downs with the small cloth that is included in the box. I have also noticed that app downloads can't be transferred to the SD card, and remain on the phone's storage. So make sure any apps you do download are ones you definitely aim to keep!
Pros: amazing hd screen, fantastic camera, crisp videos, waterproof, brilliant battery saving options
Cons: can't move downloaded apps to sd card, fingerprints
I recommend this product
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Excellent Phone

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Bongoloid
from KentKent, United Kingdom
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can honestly say this is the best phone I have owned. Its sturdy, feels solid in the hand and the feature set is equal with anything on the market today except the Galaxy S4.
But the new features on the Galaxy S4 kill the battery time, so whats the point in having them?
I have not experienced any problems with this phone since buying it in March.
Battery life isn't phenomenal, but I long since resigned myself to having to charge my phone every night. This and all modern smart phones are no different.
I can honestly say this phone is as good as any on the market at the moment.
Its only draw back, Jelly Bean 4.1.2 is about to be rectified with the imminent drop of JB 4.2.2
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

A Great Phone, but doesnt live up to makers claims

-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
by will123
from London, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my xeria for a month and it has been easy to use and i love the design and look, however, sony claim that their phone is shatter resistant and claim 'dont worry about dropping it' this is false with a small knock my screen shattered and the touchscreen disabled, such a shame as its a class phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

great phone but on problem

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Mk91
from Leicester, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone to have and is equally like any other smartphone but one problem people should be warned about is that the phone has a tendency to be hit by a glitch that renders the phone dead. it only hits a few phones but i was unfortunate to get it.
Pros: easy to use, stylish, useful
Cons: might get hit by the dead phone glitch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

sony experia z.

-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
by pops
from Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i recieved my experia z on its release date of april 1st..a few days ago i noticed it wasant charging properly,but eventually did charge..today how-ever it was sat on coffee table,and went to pick it up to use it,but couldant pick it up as it was red hot..it eventually cooled down but the phone is now dead..has any-one else had this problem..?..
Cons: product faulty
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Great up-to-date Phone and Front Runner

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
by F1!!!21
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this phone 19th April 2013 to upgrade. It is an easy phone to use and quickly adjust to a new phone.It has an unbelievable camera, with great picture. An amazing screen and all round great phone. Great android system, doesn't even come close to an iPhone. Even though you wouldn't expect it has a better than expected battery life.
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

SPLENDID PHONE

-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
by STEVE
from UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Changed from an iphone to Sony xperia z. Faster program than Apple. Downloads instantly and faster too. Can have 5 apps downloading at the same time.
As for the camera, its crisp colour and display is spectacular.
Would highly recommend this phone.
I recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Fantastic Result!

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Vodafone upgrade's team
from Belfast
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previous handset:
Previously I had the Samsung Galaxy S III, loved the handset in fact I was worried about changing the make of the phone from Samsung but I'm very glad I did and I would recommend this product to anyone.
Sony Xperia Z:
The battery life the device is same old standard day battery life however if you don't use your phone heavily it will last past 48 hours without a issue, tested this myself by using my phone for calls / texts when I needed it.
Screen:
1080p HD kinda speaks for itself in this case however when starting the phone up and looking through the apps etc. the colours do look very 'washed out', don't let this bother you because when it starts up games, images, videos or even the browser it does deliver top results, this I believe is another battery saver mode only use the full power when it matters most and believe me it does!
Music:
I really wanted to try out the old 'Walk man' feature that we all had on the old Sony handsets, I never really listened to music on my Samsung Galaxy S III but I sure do now in fact all the time I'm not sure if its going to match up to the beats audio with HTC but I'm more than happy with the performance of this feature.
Warning:
Loud speaker on this phone is poor not in performance but in sound itself doesn’t match up to the Samsung Galaxy S III and it's speaker was bad as well but trust me it won't be a issue with the Walk man feature it is worth every penny.
Pros: walkman, camera, screen, battery on low usage, gaming, sony stores in uk, waterproof, scratch proof
Cons: loud speaker, no removable battery
I recommend this product
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Xperia Z White

First truly all in one device

+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
by opel
from Scotland, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is the closest to making a single device for everything you might carry Integrated walk man; camera; phone. The reason I say this is because the quality is so great you might not need any other camera and definitely wont need a separate mp3. With the added waterproof feature making it durable.
The screen is amazing the photos really blow me away.
The cool feature that let certain actions trigger certain commands at the time you set for example when you plug in a charger between 2200 - 0700 it will put your phone in to night mode; open the alarm application and disable mobile data; wifi etc.
I was always worried about a big phone but the screen size is worth it if viewing media on the go bit of a stretch sometimes for single hand use.
Pros: waterproof, camera, screen size, hi resolution screen, amazing audio
Cons: size
I recommend this product
 
Products related to my review
Sony Xperia Z Black
4 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Xperia Z White

The mobile phone inovated

+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
by SODERI
from Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Indeed Sony has reinvented the phone.
Classy, quick, light, thin and very powerful, the only thing that no manufacturer has reached yet is to provide a decent battery for smartphones. Although, with the massive amount of connections, data, apps and huge screens, this is an acceptable fact for now.
However, Sony Xperia Z brings the best into one. Powerful Quad Core processor, amazing 13mp camera, water proof in case you decide to swim with the phone :), 2gb RAM to make things more than responsive, huge 5inch screen, 16gb internal of storage + up to 32gb on MicroSD card, really good front-facing camera providing 2.2mb resolution, a very clever design beating the thinness of galaxy S3, HTC One X and iPhone 5, it is definitely the 2013 phone all running under the best OS for smartphones which is the Android Jelly Bean 4.2
Pros: camera, screen, processor, ram, size and thickness, waterproof, 4g, hdmi
Cons: price, battery as every smartphone.
I recommend this product
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

this is a fantastic phone

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
by aggatak
from stoke on trent
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
been using this phone since it was first released and is by far the best phone i have ever used and has even made me give up my iphone!! one thing which people have been saying is that the battery life isnt great well there is a solution stamina mode which then means you get 4 times more battery life. also its water and dust proof so its perfect for anyone no matter what job you do
Pros: stamina mode, water and dust proof, gorgeous device, lighteing quick, gorgeous 1080p screen
I recommend this product
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Very good phone no issues

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Slaine 57
from Wolverhampton
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can say that this is a good phone I can get nearly 2 and a half
Days out of the Sony Z not bad for a smart phone and the only
Phone on the market that can be dropped in water is very different i
I recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Poor screen, eats battery, great build quality

-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Hard_to_Please
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So the much vaunted screen I found average - viewing angles are very narrow after which colours wash out and the screen is not very bright. Even at full brightness it's hard work in the sun ( yes we have had some recently !). So whilst the screen is very detailed and is better than my 4S it's too dim for me.
Battery life not good - the Stamina tech is good but only operates when you aren't using the phone. Once you use it - and with a 5 inch screen you do want to watch video clips - the battery meter seems to head south very fast.
The fact you can't save apps and Spotify music to the micro SD card is not helpful but this is an OS issue - and currently there is a Spotify work around.
Build quality is up with the best although the waterproof socket covers are a bit of a pain when you have to recharge it so often!
It's pretty fast in normal use and web browsing is great.
Sadly because of the poor/dim screen I've returned mine and hopefully the (plasticky!) S4 with its' Amoled screen will do it for me.
Pros: build quality, screen resolution, waterproof ( if you need it!), thin
Cons: dim screen, poor battery life
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MINIMINX
thank you to Hard_to_Please
Posted April 28, 2013
I just wanted to thank you for this review. I currently have the Arc and 2 things that really bug me about the Arc are:
1) the alarm doesn't work if the phone is off.
2) that when you download an app it has to save to the phone first and not the SD card and some apps can only be on the phone, which means lots of times i cannot get a new app without deleting data just to free up some space to then move the app to the card.
I had hoped that this would be fixed with future phones but i guess not. So your review has helped me realise this is not the phone for me.
Many thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
LosttheSonyfaith
London
Excellent review- Ialso returned my handset
Posted April 27, 2013
I got lured into this phone by the beautiful design esp. the back, and the specs, but believe me, for a 2013 device, it was laggier than any 2012 samsung device with quadcore processing.
The hi res screen was not IPS, suffers terrible washout
Comes with a built-in screen protector that scratches so easily glued on that should not be removed-removes the sony logo!
Had 1 stuck pixels on my first, 3 dead pixels on the second, very poor quality control.
Battery life fine if you don't use it at all but keep it on standby- stamina mode very good BUT if you use it even for an hour of web browsing, expect to lose 50% , and be flat within 2hours.- and this is on non CPU intensive basic sites without flash not even watching a video on youtube, and on wifi with data disabled.
I WARN YOU - this phone looks as good as an iphone but its internals or software let it down so badly in BASIC DAILY FUNCTIONS you willl want to return it.
Got the note II and i must say, it is better in every way, except a bit big and the UI looks cartoonish but functionally at least its a million miles better- and those who say AMOLED oversaturates- go to display settings and set to natural- colours look MORE ACCURATE THAN THIS RUBBISH LCD on the xperia Z which has resolution but is comparable to a washed out iphone 3g in terms of viewing angles and contrast- i was gluing my head to the screen to read it..
1080p on a 5 inch is stupid as its a battery hog, and I cannot descriminate pixels on a 720p device with a bigger 5.5inch screen... amoleds are better if you change the settings in every way!
Typical sony example of lowering quality control and poorly implemented software. FYI my second device bricked itself and needed a hard reset- just crashed and wouldn't turn on with the power button and even in charging socket- needed to hold volume up and power on to bring it to life. A lot of Z's die inexplicably. (but they can be brought back in most cases like mine)..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

the sony xperia z phone is one of the best in the world

+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
by rick82
from Wallington, Greater London, UK
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone is so great its easy to use
waterproof battery life is great
its like a tablet but easy to hold in your hand
as a phone
not only i recommend to my friends but my family is also asking about this
I recommend this product
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Xperia Z White
This review is fromSony Xperia Z Black.

Excellent phone

+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
by Sean
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had it for a week and hardly a fault
port covers are easy enough to access and seem fairly secure
screen and camera quality are superb (altough camera can be slow to focus sometimes)
phone is fast and never seen any lag even with the top end android games being used on there
Built in programs are also well desgined and easy to use, with plenty of good features also i.e. walkman app
only downside is it seems a bit to big at first and its hard to reach all of the screen, although i soon started to see my older galaxy ace as being too small after a week with this phone.
Also the battery life will easily dain rapidly when using it to its full extent, but the stamina mode is very good at pushing it for more than a day of normal useage
Pros: great camera quality, very clear screen with great image quality, quick and smooth operating, easy to get used to the size, stamina mode, its water proof, well built - no fear of it snapping in my hand
Cons: seems over sized at first, camera is slow to focus
I recommend this product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.