Overall rating 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
28 out of 4168%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overall rating 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
28 out of 4168%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Average customer reviews
Click on filters to refine your results.
Ratings summary
Overall rating 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Average feature rating
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
28 out of 4168%of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Filter by rating
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Click on filters to refine your results.
Product ReviewsAdd your own review
What is relevancy sort?
Relevancy sort puts the best reviews at the top. We look at things like helpfulness votes, latest reviews, pictures and other traits that readers look for in their reviews.
Sort order:
Very good features on this phone.
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
by 
from Dublin 1
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very reliable and very easy to use phone. Love it...
I recommend this product
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
nokia make a great phone
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
by 
from cork
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has to be the best phone of it's kind on the market!
I recommend this product
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
Nokia Lumia 520
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
by 
from Annyalla
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Nokia's battery runs out to quickly.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
best budget smartphone on the market
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
by 
from Cabra
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
took a chance on this phone and as most people are put off by windows phones,I wasn't- the operating system is much easier to use and you can tailor the tiles to your own liking. there are some great features about windows, like your facebook updates showing up in the tile on your home page and some nice animated tiles for your apps. the battery is decent as most people charge their phones every day anyway , camera doesn't have a flash but the 5mp camera does a great job in low light- no front facing camera which is basically all that differentiates it from the higher spec Lumia models in the range. decent speaker too, and like the Nokias of old, you can change the cover to whatever colour you like. battery casing can get a little warm if you're playing games for long spells so try to limit your playing if possible. charge time is quick enough too,usually around 45 mins. it's much lighter than the iphone or most other android phones aand the screen is super sharp and the touch screen works with gloves and fingernails but can be a bit laggy the odd time on facebook for some reason.
you won't find all your favourite android apps either but there are Windows versions of the most popular ones. some great free Xbox games too in the app store. for 130 quid with so many features and ease of use, you'll be hard pushed to find a phone with better value for money that does half as much as the 520.
almost 500 euro cheaper than the iphone 5 on prepay and has the same rating. says it all really. Nokia were left lagging behind over the last few years but if they keep producing and improving on the phones like this one it won't be long before they corner the market again
I recommend this product
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
Easy for any age group to manage!
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
by 
from Kildare
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you don't mind being tracked everywhere you go (which is the case with all smartphones in varying degrees anyway) then this is a cheap and affordable entry level smartphone. Battery goes down very quickly but if you are stuck for a place to charge it then turning off wifi, bluetooth, location services, keypad tones, etc will all go towards helping to extend battery life. There is a built in battery saver which can be set to switch on automatically when the phone battery is below a certain level, i think 20%, but only calls and texts will be received when this is on, no apps will work in the background and no emails will be received until the battery saver is switched off.
You can link your hotmail, google, twitter, facebook and any other accounts you have with this phone, which is very handy. Notifications actually come in quicker to the phone's notification section for fb and twitter than it does to the apps for these sites, so if you like you can save battery life even more by not bothering to install these apps in the first place. Also, there is a facility to post updates to either one of, or both facebook and twitter, another reason you may not want to bother installing the apps.
Data is very easy to transfer from your old phone to this one by bluetooth (step-by-step on-screen instruction) but do it before you ring vodafone to register this phone, as this phone uses a micro-sim and not the old-fashioned normal sized sim so you want to make sure you've gotten everything you want off your old device first.
Viber and what's app are in major need of updates on Windows, so if they are important to you this might not be the phone for you, as call quality is dodgy at best on viber, and i dont even get live tile notifications for that or whats app, and calls dont come in for viber unless i am already in the app, which is not really practical.
Snapchat is good if you like that , although the windows version is 'swapchat free', a smiley white thing the size of a thumbprint on a yellow background.
The different photo apps are fun, the one note app is very handy for shopping lists, and i have just discovered Shazam for finding out the name of a song i'm listening to. There are loads of free games to pass the time. You can install up to 64gb of a micro sd card and use this phone as an mp3 player as well as everything else you can do with it.
Some people might buy this expecting android apps, thinking that anything that is not apple is automatically android, but if you are one of those people be careful. Apps that are freely available in the apple store or on google play will not necessarily have a windows equivalent, or if they do it may not work very well. i however think the windows 8 OS on this phone more than makes up for that. The bing search engine is excellent, and can give you localised results if you choose to let it access your location, (which oddly enough gave my address as my next door neighbours house, which is funny) but there is a free google app you can download if you are stuck on using google.
All in all i am very very happy with this phone, it is my first proper touch-screen smartphone and i am well on my way to mastering it, even though i am closer to 40 than i care to admit!!!
I recommend this product
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
The best phone you will find under €400?
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed on:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
by 
from Dublin
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked up this one to replace an Android I got about 2 years ago around the same price. First of all it was only €69 on sale, so that is already a bargain (On PAYG too). After using it for a while, I can tell you I would have paid double that for a phone of this quality.
The phone is incredbly straightforward to use, because the Windows 8 software is so user friendly. It takes barely 2 minutes to get it running, and from then on everything is self explanatory. No complaints on the ease of use front.
The camera isn't so great, but this is something you'll only notice when it's dark. There's no LED flash on the back, but my old phone also lacked this feature. Camera enthusiasts might be a bit disappointed with the camera's performance but, speaking as someone who is not, the camera is alright.
The OS runs smoothly all the time with no lag between screens, and the Nokia apps that come free with it are also great. Nokia Mix Radio in particular is great, it functions like a sort of Spotify app. It's free, it runs fast, it gives you music offline. It's something you won;t get on any non-nokia phone, and it's a reason to buy this thing. Nokia HERE maps also come free on this phone, and they also work great. You only get the city you live in for free, but regardless it has a major advantage over Droid apps - It's also offline. Everything I can do offline saves me money, and this phone is nothing if not great value.
The battery life is also fine, lasts about a day or so. Nothing special to note here.
It's not massively heavy and fits just fine in your pocket, yet the screen is large enough to use it as a decent little media/youtube player. It's fine, if a little sparse on features. You will only be able to use about 4GB of the phone's featured 8 GB, so to get the most out of that you might want to get a decent sized SD card, but these aren't massively expensive or hard to find. The display is not HD, but it's hardly likely that you would fit too many HD files on 4GB anyway, and the display is clear enough that the HD is not missed. If you realy need HD videos on the go, this is one feature you might miss.
In terms of reliability, so far no software issues or breakdowns. I picked up a case to make sure it doesn't get too banged up, but even without it, the build quality feels like that of a far more expensive phone. It's made of plastic rather than the slick aluminum one-piece cases of high end phones, but the bright plastic case makes it stand out against the Huaweis and ZTEs are more well known around ths range, but always seem to have the same drab black cases.
Unless you're super attached to high-end phones like iPhone 5's or Samsung S4's, you won't be disappointed with this one. It punches well above its weight and is a match for any phone of its price range, or even more expensive mid rangers. It's not perfect, for example I would like it if it were easier to scroll through youtube videos, and the onboard memory of 8GB (4 GB of which you can actually use!) may well require you to get a micro SD card - But any negative point I make just feels like nitpicking.
To summarise - Buy one; or even buy two and keep one as a backup. Even though it's a cheap phone, the 520 doesn't cut out anything the common user will miss. This is probably the best phone you will get until the top-of-the-range, €400 phones.
I recommend this product
Written by a customer while visiting vodafone.ie
  • 2019-07-16 T21:52:27.692-05:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_sku78023, prod, sort_default
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.